Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: Bouygues

OS curve 8520

Hye, I've a Curve 8520 with an OS 4 and I would like to change in OS 5. Do you know if it's possible and how ?

Elite II
Posts: 7,973
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: OS curve 8520

Hi SERGEROUXEL

 

Welcome to BlackBerry Support Forums

 

If you wish to update your Curve 8520 to OS 5 then you can do it ! You can use desktop software for this update process or perform a manual update . To do that follow those instructions :

 

1.Locate your Carrier and Download the OS you desire from here  BlackBerry Software Download Site

  • (make sure you are downloading for the same model as you have )

2. Now Double Click  on the file that you Downloaded to Install it on your PC

 

3. Download and install the latest BlackBerry desktop software from here BlackBerry desktop software

  • Then using desktop software perform your full backup of your device.

4.Search your C: Drive for any Vendor.xml files and delete them, there may be one or two vendor.xml ( On your PC change your folders option to show hidden files / folders  :

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\Windows UserName\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

 

5. Go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader. (For 64-bit Vista or Windows 7, the path       will be C: > Program Files x86 > Common Files > Research In Motion > AppLoader) double click Loader.exe

 

      Upgrade will continue then After Installation of New OS restore your backup using BlackBerry desktop

Software.

 

Try it and let us know if you feel any problem.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: Bouygues

Re: OS curve 8520

I've tested your advices. So I've a message when I try the release from v4 to v5 :

[Cette mise à jour de Blackberry comprend de nouvelles fonctionnalités..., elle est uniquement disponible pour les utilisateurs disposant d'un abonnement Blackberry...]

I cannot go to the next step. My curve has been unblocked from Orange, to be connected with Bouygues, and now with Free.

Thx

Elite II
Posts: 7,973
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: OS curve 8520


SERGEROUXEL wrote:

[Cette mise à jour de Blackberry comprend de nouvelles fonctionnalités..., elle est uniquement disponible pour les utilisateurs disposant d'un abonnement Blackberry...]

 


Hi there ,

 

The message indicates that you don't have sufficient data plan from your Current Carrier , Can you confirm if you have it in your account ? Or are you able to use BlackBerry applications like BBM , email services etc .. ?

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: Bouygues

Re: OS curve 8520

I do not have it. I would like to. With this mobile, I don't use bbm or email services, but I can if it's necessary. I don't know really how to use it.

Can you explain me ?

Thx 

Highlighted
Elite II
Posts: 7,973
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: OS curve 8520

Hi there ,

 

Those OS updates are released by our respective Carriers , without having any BlackBerry Data Plan / BIS on our account our carrir will never push those update to us .

 

Yes , If you wish then you can activate it very easily in your account , all you have to do is call or contact your present Carrier and let them activate specific BlackBerry data  plan also known as BIS . After activating such data plan you'll be able to use all BlackBerry application like BBM , email etc over your mobile network as well as over wifi . 

 

So, call your carrier and activate BIS in your account which will resolve your current issue with updating also !

 

let us know if you still have any problem or questions.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.