Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
giglypuff
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
My Device: BB Curve 8520

Old software version

hello everyone!

 

I have a really little problem that makes me feel upset! :smileysurprised:

 

Two weeks ago I took my bb curve 8520 at an assistance point because of some problems with

 

sending SMS and they updated the software version to the last one!

 

but I don't like it!

 

it may be strange but I preferred the previous version and now I don't know whether it's possible to

 

return to the old or not!

 

can you tell me, in case I can do that, how to do???

 

thank you!!! :smileyhappy:

JSanders
Posts: 86,360
Likes: 23,172
Solutions: 5,978
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Old software version

Yes, you can certainly downgrade the OS.

 

1. Download and install the older version of the OS. BlackBerry Operating System Downloads

2. Install the older OS to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.
3. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml."
4. Plug in BB and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in the same place as the above vendor.xml file.

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
giglypuff
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
My Device: BB Curve 8520

Re: Old software version

ooooh! I'll try to do exactly what you say!

 

I hope no to make too many mistakes 'cause I'm not very practical with these works...

 

thank u very much!!!

 

 

 

 

JSanders
Posts: 86,360
Likes: 23,172
Solutions: 5,978
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Old software version

You should be ok as long as you follow the directions above.

 

As always, do a back up of your device first, using the Desktop Software. Then, close the Desktop software and follow the directions above.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
giglypuff
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
My Device: BB Curve 8520

Re: Old software version

sorry...I got a problem!

 

I followed your directions but after I plugged in the BB and clicked on "LOADER", during the process a message appeared saying tha it wasn't possible to complete the updating to the version  required because I needed a new version of the Application Loader...

I can't understand what it could mean and what to do now!

New Contributor
giglypuff
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
My Device: BB Curve 8520

Re: Old software version

I've done it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I don't know well how I succeeded in doing this very complicated process for me but at the end the result is that the older O.S. is come back to me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :smileysurprised:

The only strange thing is that now under "options>advanced options>SIM card" my telephone number is followed by a strange series of other numbers without any sense and I can't change it!!! I tried to click on "menu>change telephone number" but it doesn't let me do anything...I also tried to reset the BB leaving and reintegrating the battery but nothing seems to be happened!

If someone has got any advises to give me, I'll be very happy to read them!

Thank you again!