Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

New Contributor
timgarvey
My Device: Blackberry Curve

Re: Red X Shown On Battery

As I am not an expert in Blackberrys I am not getting into a yes he did/ no he didn't argument. The point is that the Battery which was part of a Batch purchased from the Manufacturer was of a type which could not be used unless the code from the original battery was copied over to the replacement. The person in the shop who originally sold the battery was new and had no knowledge of this. The person who subsequently sorted the issue did and it was sorted in minutes. Not a big deal. I just thought it may be the cause of some of the issues reported here.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Solutions: 5,951
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Sorry, timgarvey, you might have misunderstood me...  I said BlackBerry does not sell chinese knockoffs.

Obviously your retailer (which wasn't BlackBerry) is/was selling chinese knockoffs. BlackBerry itself does not sell batteries, and your retailer must have gotten a batch from third party distribution.

This is nothing new, the knockoff batteries have been around for several years, and yes they sometimes do require a 'code' to activate the battery. What you experienced is not odd for those type batteries.

I understand.

1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes

Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.