If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
lauriehurman
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: tescomobile
Accepted Solution

blackberry contract?

Hi All

Sorry for a beginner question but a friend has offerd to sell me his 8520 now that he has upgraded. I have lusted after this for ages but I'm worried that it wont work with my tescomobile pasygo sim.

Do I need a proper blackberry contract to make this phone work fully?

 

Thanks very much for taking the time to respond.

Laurie

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,960
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: blackberry contract?

Hi lauriehurman

 

 

Welcome to BlackBerry Support Forums

 

 

First of all you have to confirm with your friend that BlackBerry is an UNlocked one from its previous carrier , Otherwise it will not allow tescomobile SIM, Secondly in order to use BlackBerry Services like BBM, personal Email services and a few other you need a BlackBerry data plan also known as BIS from your respective carrier.

 

That's all. Good Luck. 

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
lauriehurman
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: tescomobile

Re: blackberry contract?

Thanks very much
Am I right in thinking that if tescomobile does not offer the 8520 for sale then they are unlikely to provide a "BIS" for it?
I will ask them but they seem a lot less keen to be helpful than you are.
Thanks
Laurie

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,960
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: blackberry contract?

Hi lauriehurman

 

 

                             As far as I know Curve 8520 will work over Tescomobile SIM , But They will have to activate BIS on there SIM , I think they will provide but it will be better to re-confirm with them.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.