Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
Fionamac1970
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
My Device: curve 9300

curve 9300 freezes on 1st back up

Pleease can someone help??? I have downloaded the blackberry desktop software to update my software then plugged in my phone. It automatically begins to back up but freezes at RMS databases 12 of 13 records. I ctrl, alt, del to end program then have to take my battery out of phone to get it to work again. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the desktop software but it just keeps freezzing. This is driving me insane as I am not technically minded. Any suggestions will be greatly recieved

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,763
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: curve 9300 freezes on 1st back up

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

Here is a KB that discusses that error:

  • KB13036 Cannot backup or restore the following database: RMS Databases

 

Hopefully it contains something useful!

 

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
kfranklin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-22-2012
My Device: Curve 9300

Re: curve 9300 freezes on 1st back up

That KB is not relevant. It pertains to the restoration of backed-up RMS Databases, but the problem the original poster had was with backing them up in the first place. The desktop software doesn't produce an error message; it simply freezes on the RMS Databases part of the backup.

 

The problem  seems to be common across all Blackberry device ranges - I've seen people posting similar problems with Bold and Torch phones too. I have the Curve 9300 and am having exactly the same problem. Various Bold and Torch users have suggested performing a custom backup and simply unchecking the item that it freezes on. However this sometimes seems to result in it freezing on something else instead!

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,763
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: curve 9300 freezes on 1st back up

You are right...I didn't fully read it...perhaps you can find some more relevant materials for this situation?

 

Sometimes, a clean start over with the Desktop Software helps...

I suggest this thread (up to step 7):

It starts with a process for cleanly starting over, and there is some discussion, and there is also a post (15) with links to older Desktop Software versions, if those are needed. Note that this is not, by any means, guaranteed to work...but it has worked for many to resolve issues they are having.

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
Jespa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-27-2012
My Device: Curve 9300

Re: curve 9300 freezes on 1st back up

I have had this problem with my Curve 9300 for a very long time. Wiping and reloading the system did cure it for a short while but then the problem returned. The only solution I have found that works is to do a custom backup each time with the RIM databases deselected. That does beg the question 'what information is not being backed up', though!
New Contributor
kfranklin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-22-2012
My Device: Curve 9300

Re: curve 9300 freezes on 1st back up

I've found a better solution:

1. Go to your local phone shop.
2. Buy an iPhone.
3. Sell your Blackberry to envirophone.

Works every time!