Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Rogers

how to get rid of firewall/blackberry enterprise

i have a firewall on my blackberry curve 8310 and i cant get rid of it

i was told that im on a enterprise and have to contact the admin

everytime i attempt to use the internet/apps i get a message about IT policy and firewall

i tried disabling the firewall but there is a lock beside it which wont allow me

this wasnt my phone, i bought it off of someone and cant get in contact with them

how can i remove the IT policy or whatever and get rid of the firewall?

i need help with this, please and thank you :smileyhappy:

Guru III
Posts: 31,217
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: how to get rid of firewall/blackberry enterprise

If on BES, you have to call you BESAdmin.

 

If not on BES and is personal then you can remove it.

KB17215 - Official method to remove the IT policy

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: how to get rid of firewall/blackberry enterprise

im not sure if im on BES though

i formatted everything for it to go back to normal

but ive done it before and somehow the firewall came back

right now it isnt there but how can i make sure it doesnt happen again?

im tired of deleting everything from my phone

also, using the backup/restore brings back the firewall

Guru III
Posts: 31,217
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: how to get rid of firewall/blackberry enterprise

Do you use corporate email form your company?

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: how to get rid of firewall/blackberry enterprise

no i dont

im not the original owner of the phone

i bought it used off of someone

Guru III
Posts: 31,217
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: how to get rid of firewall/blackberry enterprise

then follow the KB i posted and do not do a restore

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: how to get rid of firewall/blackberry enterprise

so i did what you told me to do and it worked perfectly until today when i connected my blackberry to the computer and used blackberry desktop manager

 

now the phone has the firewall enabled again and there is a red lock beside

i dont want to lose all my files/messages/settings again

Elite I
Posts: 6,343
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: how to get rid of firewall/blackberry enterprise

Did you do a restore from the Desktop Manager? If so that restores everything, including that IT Policy, etc.

 

If you're just trying to restore messages, contacts, etc just go into Backup and Restore | Advanced. You can select certain databases from the left hand side and copy them to the right side.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.