Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

New Contributor
SoxFan670
My Device: Curve 8310
Accepted Solution

BB Desktop Manager for Mac - First time update, missing contacts and emails

I installed BBDM for my Mac, hooked up the BB Curve 8310 and selected the upgrade.  The phone upgraded okay I guess as far as the software install, but my address book is empty and all the emails are gone.  I am new to BB.  Was I supposed to back this thing up first?  Because there was nothing that said "hey **bleep** back your phone data up before you install this software."  Is all this stuff lost, or do I just need to look someplace for it on the computer or the phone?  Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: BB Desktop Manager for Mac - First time update, missing contacts and emails

I'm not a Mac user and I haven't used the Mac Desktop Manager.  However, usually an automatic backup is made during the process.  Try plugging it back in and opening Desktop Manager and go to Backup/Restore.  Choose Restore and then go to the File menu and see if there is a Loaderbackup-(today's date) file that can be restored back to the device.  My instructions here are for PC Desktop Manager so you may have to vary them slightly to accomodate for the Mac Desktop Manager.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
SoxFan670