Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
jaiz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-21-2012
My Device: bold9780

BB desktop manager 6.0 doesnt work

Hi

 

I have installed the latest version of the BB desktop manager but everytime I open it, a message that blackberry desktop software has stopped working and windows will close the program and notify if a solution is available comes up! I have tried to uninstall and reinstall the program multiple times but the problem persists, Iam using a 32 bit windows 7. I never had any issue such as this with the previous desktop manager versions. Please help

 

thanks

Please use plain text.
Retired
FrankieS
Posts: 2,795
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: BB desktop manager 6.0 doesn't work

Hi jaiz,

 

Please try to uninstall the BlackBerry® Desktop Software, then follow the second set of steps in the resolution of this article to disable user account control on the computer. www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB28458

Once you have done this, please restart the computer and try reinstalling the BlackBerry Desktop Software.

 

Hope this helps,

 

 

 


-FS


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jaiz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-21-2012
My Device: bold9780

Re: BB desktop manager 6.0 doesn't work

Tried it, It still doesnt work!!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Stoplock
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
My Device: 9860

Re: BB desktop manager 6.0 doesn't work

Me too!  

 

Hello - am newbie on this forum. Just had a new 9860 replacement and need to upload my details from old phone to new - no issue with that, but am getting this as I install the DM on my windows 7 64 bit machine. 

'Rim.Desktop.HttpServerSetup has encountered a problem and needs to close '. This displays at the end of the install and then says it has successfully install. Click on the link - and it says that DM has stopped working and is looking for a solution. NOthing! I really need to sort this out ASAP - any idea guys? IS there an alternative way of doing what I need to do? 

PS - Have tried installing as an admin - same result.

If anyone could help - that would be great!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Stoplock
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
My Device: 9860

Re: BB desktop manager 6.0 doesn't work

I have also done a clean uninstall - same result.
Please use plain text.
Retired
FrankieS
Posts: 2,795
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: BB desktop manager 6.0 doesn't work

Hey jaiz,

 

Could you please try uninstalling the BlackBerry® Desktop Software again and then disabling your startup items as shown in Resolution 4 of the following KB article. www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB12334 Then reinstall it and test again. You may also want to verify that you are installing the program in an administrator account.

 

Thanks.


-FS


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jaiz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-21-2012
My Device: bold9780

Re: BB desktop manager 6.0 doesn't work

I dont think It will work, I think there are some serious bugs with the desktop software 6.1 which needs to be corrected, I browsed through the forum and a lot of users have the same problem! it is just not possible for a whole lot of people facing the same issue unless theres a bug with the software itself!, Iam saving myself all this hassle and reverting back to the DM 6.0.1 which is working perfectly!

 

As a note please do a thorough testing of the version u release before you actually release it!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Stoplock
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
My Device: 9860

Re: BB desktop manager 6.0 doesn't work

I have tried this method - still wont work. Where does one get a copy of 6.0 from or even earlier?!!
Please use plain text.