Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

My Device: Not Specified

Backup just by dragging folders?

Total newbie with a new BlackBerry Curve 8330.

Regarding backing the thing up (the contacts, the photos, music files, everything...)

Can't I just plug the thing into a Mac with a USB cable, let it mount like a hard drive,

and drag/copy all the folders off it to the Mac?

If the thing every crashes, couldn't I then put a new mini-SD card in it, plug it into

the Mac, and drag everything back?

Will that not work?  I don't care about syncing, making incremental backups, blah blah blah.

I would be quite happy to just drag an archive off the thing once in a while as simple folders.

Along the same vein, if I wanted to take out the 1 GB SD card that's in it and upgrade it to,

say a 4 or 8, couldn't I do that the same way?  Drag everything to the Mac, turn the BB off,

put in the new card, turn it on, and drag everything back?

Thanks 

Re: Backup just by dragging folders?

No that's not possible. Why would you assume that just because its a mac it will work. 

Why would I assume that?  Because every other USB storage device, like a hard drive or camera, works that way.

I plug it in, and I can read all the files off it.

As a matter of fact, even on the Blackberry, it "sort of" works that way.  I plug it in and I can see folders of

all my media (photos, music files, etc) just like an ordinary hard drive.

It's only the address book I can't see.

You have to admit, just putting all that stuff in a "system" folder and letting me drag it to copy/back it up

would be a heck of a lot easier than installing some software package.

Solutions: 6,112
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon