Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
JOSELO
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-09-2012
My Device: CURVE 8253

Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

Just installed BBM DS and have this problem. Does anybody knows how to fix this? Please help...

 

 

Problem Event Name: BEX

Application Name: Rim.Desktop.exe

Application Version: 6.1.0.36

Application Timestamp: 4eb85358

Fault Module Name: MSVCR90.dll

Fault Module Version: 9.0.30729.4926

Fault Module Timestamp: 4a1743c1

Exception Offset: 0006c955

Exception Code: c0000417

Exception Data: 00000000

OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.4

Locale ID: 1033

Additional Information 1: ffdc

Additional Information 2: ffdc5c927bb197c66b8a361bc28f8f45

Additional Information 3: 4039

Additional Information 4: 4039b80efd4598859ece01f9232e3202

New Contributor
JOSELO
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-09-2012
My Device: CURVE 8253

RIM Communications Manager Has Stopped Working

I downloaded this software and it is delivering the following error:

 

Problem signature:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

Application Name: RIMDeviceManager.exe

Application Version: 6.0.0.40

Application Timestamp: 4eb2ef01

Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll

Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16915

Fault Module Timestamp: 4ec49d10

Exception Code: c0000005

Exception Offset: 00038df9

OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.4

Locale ID: 1033

Additional Information 1: 0a9e

Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Additional Information 3: 0a9e

Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

 

Can anybody help please?

New Contributor
bclarkeoob
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2012
My Device: Curve 9330

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

I tried installing the service pack and it doesn't look like anything happened. Also, I unfortunately threw away my disc with the previous version of the desktop software. Do you know where I can find this?
Thanks!

New Contributor
lifesabeach183
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2012
My Device: Curve 9330 3-G

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

Try downloading the current version from the Blackberry Support Site. I just went w/the pre-6.0 version because I was so gun shy about 6.0.
New Contributor
bclarkeoob
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2012
My Device: Curve 9330

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

the .NET thing did the trick. I downloaded 4.1 or something like that. For good measures I uninstalled the desktop software , restarted the computer, installed the .net, restarted the computer and made sure the phone was unplugged when I ran it for the frist time.

Thanks for your help. I also was ready to give up on this phone! BB had a stay of execution ;o)

New Contributor
jasdeese
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: Curve 9330

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

I have been having the same problem.   Splash screen  for a few seconds then a white (blank screen) which if you attempt to close it displays the following message in a banner at the top: "Blackberry Desktop Manager ("Not Responding").  There are a number of posts about this issue and an even greater number of proposed solutions, each one of which I have tried and which do not work.  I need to synch my organizer data, but have been unable to do so for several weeks.  RIM seems to have their head buried in the sand on this issue because they neither have acknowledged it nor proposed a solution.  I'm running Windows 7 (64) bit  Home Premium

New Contributor
bclarkeoob
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2012
My Device: Curve 9330

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

I was imagining all the ways I could smash my phone I was so frustrated! There is not one telephone number on their website. (Ironically I'm reading "Delivering Happiness" by Tony Hsieh, which BB is not). Zero customer service! The .NET thing did the trick for me. Here's the link on Microsoft's website for the .net.

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=17851.  I am mostly computer illiterate and have no idea what this does, but it worked. After I installed this program I uninstalled the BB Software and then reinstalled it. Keep the phone disconnected until you get it running.  Good Luck!

 

New Contributor
JOSELO
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-09-2012
My Device: CURVE 8253

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

I have .NET 4.1 installed in my computer. I also removed the 6.1 version of the desktop software and installed the 5.0. However it is not working. What version of the Desktop software shalle we install? The reason I am asking is becasue when version 6.1 was released it had this BDSHSW issue. Any suggestions?

New Contributor
bclarkeoob
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2012
My Device: Curve 9330

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

I installed the Desktop Manager, 6.1 and it worked. You can try removing the 5 completely and install the 6. I would shut the computer down after each install/uninstall. It re-sets things... the technical jargon :smileysurprised:)

New Contributor
jlisedouglas
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Blackberry Desktop Software Has Stopped Working

Thank you for all the suggestions.  I too have tried everything (including the .NET)  and have now spent several hours trying to fix BB Desktop Software.  The older version worked fine but I can only find the 5.0 CD and that won't work now that I have Windows 7.  I can only find Version 6 on the BB Support site.   I even tried to download the Beta DM 7.0 and the same thing - the software starts up goes to white screen and then just hangs.  I love my phone and was completely happy with the calendar sync but after reading every post related to the Desktop Manager software, I see that so many are having trouble.....I have to have the calendar sync for my accounting business so I am at a complete loss (not to mention frustrated at very little communication from BB on this issue)