Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
Moneyspendingal
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Desktop Manager Password

I just installed Desktop manager on my PC and when I hook my phone up to the PC, it says "Device Password Required".  I have entered the password i have on my phone twice, and apparently that's not what it's looking for.  I have 3/10 attempts left.  Can anyone help? 
Developer
kerseyr
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
My Device: 8900

Re: Desktop Manager Password

It should be the device password.

 

What device do you have?

 

Is it anything to do with a sure type keypad?

New Contributor
Moneyspendingal
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Manager Password

I have an unlocked curve 8320 with OS 4.5.  I have tried the device password twice and it's not working.
Developer
kerseyr
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
My Device: 8900

Re: Desktop Manager Password

So if you go to

 

Options -> Security Options ->  General Settings click the menu button and select change password from the menu. Can you change it to something else and try again?

 

 

New Member
calmpari
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-23-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Manager Password

hi all,

 

When i connected my BB to my laptop, i faced the same password problem with Desktop manager first but in setting of my Black berry phone i disabled password and then reconnected it to the laptop. This time it did not ask for any password. Try it

New Member
shonore
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Manager Password

Hello!

 

If the password for your device has numbers in it, type in the corresponding letters on your computer. For e.g. if you have an 8520, No. 6 - type "f" on your computer; No. 4 - type "s" on your computer and so forth. This worked for me.

New Member
abhijeetdutta89
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-21-2011
My Device: Blackberry curve 8520

Re: Desktop Manager Password

Thanks!!

 

It worked for me

New Member
ChristianK
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
My Device: Bold 9780

Re: Desktop Manager Password

Thank you so much. You've saved my life.

Where do you live? I'd like to invite you for a beer or two...

 

Visitor
Babeltree
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8900

Re: Desktop Manager Password

Work for me! Thank U so much !
New Contributor
Sabbt
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Desktop Manager Password

Hi

 

I won BB torch 9800 and I have password on my mobile

I downloaded the desktop software to back up, and when connecting my mobile to my lap top ( Vaio ) the desktop SW asked me to enter my password and I entered my password at my mobile keyboard but I got incorrect password

I have read some answers in this site that I should enter the corresponding letters to my numeric password

I did entered it but using another lap top ( MAC ) with desktop software

now I have made 8 unsuccessful trials and left with 2

Please guide how to solve it

 

Thanks in advance