Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

New Contributor
runningsheep
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Desktop Manager with Pearl 8120 keeps crashing with no error message mid-way through sync!

I've been using my 8120 for about 3 months with Desktop Manager 4.6 with no problems. Recently, it updated to 4.7 and since then, every time I try to sync it gets part way through syncing calendar items, then a Vista error message appears saying that Desktop Manager has stopped working and closes the program.

I've tried uninstalling 4.7 (including removing registry items) and reinstalling 4.6 but now the same problem occurs with 4.6!!!

Grrr...

Still not prepared to sell my soul and buy an iPhone, but I need some help!

Please use plain text.
Super Contributor
Forza
My Device: 7230,7290,8100,8300,8700,9000

Re: Desktop Manager with Pearl 8120 keeps crashing with no error message mid-way through sync!

Hi There and welcome to the forums,

You mentioned that you uninstalled and remove registry files, but did you do it according to this Clean uninstall KB

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB02206

If not, simply Delete or rename the Intellisync folder.

1. Close the BlackBerry Desktop Manager.

2. Open Windows® Explorer and locate the following folder:

3. C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Intellisync

4. Delete or rename the Intellisync folder (for example, Intellisync_old).

5. Open the BlackBerry Desktop Manager.

6. Connect the BlackBerry device to the computer.

7. Double-click Synchronize.

8. Select the Synchronize organizer data check box.

9. Click Synchronize now to synchronize the organizer data on your BlackBerry device. A new Intellisync folder is created.

See how you go.