Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Contributor
My Device: 9780

Desktop Software crashes when clicking on "Configure Settings"

Hi,

I am a Blackberry newbie having bought my first one yesterday: a Bold 9780.

I installed the Desktop Software that came with the CD on my notebook running Windows 7 Professional. When Desktop Software started up after installation, I immediately got an error message that said "Rim.Desktop.Autoupdate has stopped working" and it then tries to search for a solution which didn't work.

However, Desktop Software managed to open up nicely despite that problem. In the main window, I went through the setup procedure as prompted. But when I got to "Organizer" and click on "Configure Settings...", it will attempt to do so but will crash with a message saying "Black Berry Desktop Software has stopped working". I have tried it several times and had the same response.

I have spent close to 8 hours through the night reading through all the message and forums here and on other websites and have tried countless ideas: clean uninstall and reinstall, register DLL files, etc. but nothing works. I have even tried installing the previous version 5.0.1 which also has some issues with being unable to open device database or something like that.

Getting this desktop software working is very important as I need to import all my work contacts from Outlook 2007 to my new 9780.

I am really at my wits end and would appreciate any help.

Thanks so much.

Regular Contributor
My Device: Bold 9000

Re: Desktop Software crashes when clicking on "Configure Settings"

hmm well it sounds like it could be a corrupt mapi profile to me, or a few other things, I would take a look at the following blackberry knowledge base articles.

KB15735
KB13801

Contributor