Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
My Device: curve
My Carrier: verizon

Re: Error 1316

thank you and I have tried EVERY one of those options already or I would not have posted

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 55,762
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (5.1.1), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error 1316

Well, that's still pretty sparse in details...there are many steps within that KB along with many linked KBs with many more steps. One of them certainly should have worked, but not knowing what the results were when you tried, it's pretty hard to diagnose further. Details keep us from guessing...

Get your 15% discount at ShopBlackBerry.com! Click Here for details.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
My Device: curve
My Carrier: verizon

Re: Error 1316

I know you are a volunteer but you are a bit arrogant.  Each attempt with the posting recommendations resulted in: "Error 1316:a network error occurred while attempting to read from the file :C\Windows\installer\blackberry desktopsoftware.msi

 

I cannot be any clearer than this.

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 55,762
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (5.1.1), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error 1316

Sorry if I sound arrogant, but you are missing my point. I understand that you continue to get the error message...but that is a completely generic statement. I am rather more interested in specifics. For instance, what happened when you attempted Resolution 2 in KB04272? Likewise, what happens when you follow KB02206? Are you doing everything as Administrator on your PC? Have you tried any registry cleansers?

Let us know.

Get your 15% discount at ShopBlackBerry.com! Click Here for details.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
My Device: 9700 bold
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Error 1316

Hello,
i also faced this problem many times but  i fixed it, i also got some help from this website error1316 , hope someone might get help from this website.
fix error 1316 Windows 7.
    1. Use Windows Installer Clean Up
    2. Use a Registry Fixing Utility
    3. Change Windows Installer Registry Information
    4. Check the Security Details of the Concerning File

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: China Mobile

Re: Error 1316

Dear all,
this is my 3rd day that I spent in front of my computer and my mind start cracking.
Firstly here is my computer config:
win7 ultimate 
service pack 1
always "run as administrator".
I had bold 9000 (OS5 - BIS) and and was using/syncing with desktop manger v5.0.1 without any problem over 2year.
3 days ago bought a new bold 9788(OS6 - BIS) and my nightmares started.
Firstly, existed DM start to crashing when I connect my phone. So I downloaded from blackberry web site v6.1version.
I read necessary forums before installing and made clean uninstall for previous DM as per stated ArticleID: KB02206
plus as a medium tech savvy I run registry cleaner program to clean leftovers as I did for my all unistalls. so far noany problem about uninstall process.
when i run the installer installation starts but afterwhile it comes error 1316(a network error occured while attempting to read from the file C:\windows\installer\blackberry desktop software.msi) and installation stops androlling back process. 
after that i read all the forums related 1316 error but as now no any solutions. I can't install this software to mycomputer.
here is the list of the procedures i followed so far, but i would like to remind after each installation attempt, Iuninstalled together with complete uncleaning process including with registires and all "research in motions"folders that created during installations and countless reboots.
here is the folders I deleted each time:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\research in motions
C:\ProgramData\research in motions
C:\Program Files\research in motions
in some forum manetioned another folder might be created under C:\users\****\appdata\roaming\ -but I dont found any RIM file or folder in this section.

here is the resolutions that i followed so far.
1.) all 4 resolutions explained in Article ID: KB04272
2.) used windows installer clean up app. for uninstall.
3.) i placed "desktop software.msi file inside of the C:\windows\installer folder.
4.) i run setup.exe file from extracted zip file.
5.) deleted registries from registry editor by searching ne by one.
6.) registered alt.dll for re-installs.

as I can see from the forum pages error 1316 is problem for who want to uninstall software. i just want to install latest desktop software and use my new phone and sync my contacts.
can you please check and let me know if you have any experience how to overcome about this problem ?
many thanks in advance. 
Burak