Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
briankeith513
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

Whenever I try to use desktop manager v4.2, and now 4.3, with my Windows Vista laptop, I get "The certificate file is missing or has been corrupted.  Please re-install it."  What do I need to do to fix it?
Regular Contributor
Ben
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

While primarily for older versions of the Desktop Manager, the following document will assist you in preforming a complete unisntall of the Desktop Manager.   You likly have an old corrupt file left behind.

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/dynamickc.do?externalId=KB02206&sliceId=SAL_Public&command=show&forward=nonthreadedKC&kcId=KB02206 

Contributor
jram101
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

Is it compatible with Vista?  Just curious.
--------------------------------------
BB 8130 Pearl
IT Professional
Regular Contributor
Ben
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

Its as compatible with Vista as any other piece of software...
New Contributor
briankeith513
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

Thanks Ben, I'm trying everything out from that article now.
New Contributor
kurrupt_1
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

I think in the properties of the file you want to run you can change the way Vista runs it and you can run it like its running in XP but on Vista.
"If You Can't Do It On One Wheel Try Harder"
New Contributor
briankeith513
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

ok, it didn't work, same exact error.  Any other suggestions?
Contributor
jram101
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

So you followed all those steps and did a re-install of the software? 
--------------------------------------
BB 8130 Pearl
IT Professional
Contributor
-silentmax-
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

search the kb for the clean uninstall make sure its squeaky clean

 

then go ahead and and download desktop manager 4.3

 

right click on it make sure to select run as administrator.

 

make sure you select "install for everyone"

 

complete install

 

then try using program again.  your chances of sucess here are entriely based on you clean uninstall. makes sure its squeeky 

__________________________________________________________
im not so good with advice. can i interest you in a sarcastic comment?
New Contributor
briankeith513
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error when trying to use Media Manager in Desktop V4.3

yep, I performed all of the steps including a clean uninstall.