Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Pearl 8130

Router problem

After installation of Desktop Software 4.3, my router refuse to give me acces to Internet.

Software works fine. If I unistall the software, every things return to normal. Same thing with version 4.6...

 

Router: SMC 7004VBR ; Windows XP

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Router problem

Hi and welcome to the forums!

Do you have Media manager installed?

Thanks

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Pearl 8130

Re: Router problem

Yes.

Installation is automatic.

 

Thanks

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Router problem

Although this references the version prior to 4.3 see if this is pertinent:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB12799&sliceId=SAL_Pub...

 

Let me know,

 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Router problem

What is the Blackberry Router Configuration tab in the BB Device manager set to?
Thanks
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Pearl 8130

Re: Router problem

Hi.

 

1: Tried KB12799: router was disabled. I enabled it: doent worked.

 

2: Also tried KB12798: I enable sharing but no device appears in the UPnP sharing panel of Media Manager ???

 

3: The Router panel of Device manager was blank. I add my router adress: 192.168.2.1 : doesnt worked.


I reboot computer ans reconnect BB Pearl 8130 several times during all those operations.

 

Thanks

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Router problem

Hi,

With the router disabled can you verify the com ports that Media manager and desktop are using?

Does the media manager open automatically with the desktop software? You might try moving the MM

exe file to a temp directory and see if you can bypass bringing it up, Both programs require internet

access, DM to check for updates, Roxio for access to updates, and media, as well as the initial

registration.

Have you checked the hardware device manager on your computer for device conflicts?

Thanks,

 

 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Pearl 8130

Re: Router problem

Hi,

 

How do I found com port used by an app like DM or MM ???

 

MM doent open automatically with desktop software.

There is no device conflict reported by the system.

I renamed and moved the DM and MM files: no change.

 

In the registery, here are the value for these two MM keys:

"LocalHostListeningPort = 10080"

"MyRepresentingPort = 10080"

 

Do I need a new computer and router for XMas ?

 

Thanks !

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Router problem

Hi,

Does your router provide an error log where you can see IP addressing conflicts?

Or at least a report of what program access's what IP address in the router?

 

If not can you assign permissions and routes by specific Programs? If so,

change the default stat route to a different IP address for Internet access for

both the Desktop and Media Manager.

 

There has to be a conflict in addressing.

 

My only other thought is to reinstall the router.

 

Let me know your thoughts,

Thanks

 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Pearl 8130

Re: Router problem

Hi,

 

Thanks for your help.

 

I think youre right. Thers an adressing conflict.

 

Here is "a how" adress an application for the router. Taken in the SMC FAQ:

 

 

How do I open ports in the Special Application?

To access the application, you can open up the ports specific to the application in the special application, which is present in the router management screen as follows:
  1. Open your web browser, type in the router's IP address (standard: 'http://192.168.2.1') and press enter.
  2. Click on Login, Advanced Setup, NAT, Special Application.
  3. Enter the port details and enable it as follows:

Trigger Port      Trigger Type     Public Port     Public Type     Enabled

   3724                TCP                3724            TCP                Y 

   6112                TCP                6112            TCP                Y

   6881                TCP                6881-6999    TCP                Y


* The port numbers given are just an example. You need to open the ports depending on the application you are using and should get the information from the application provider.

 

 

How can I know the trigger port an public port value for Desktop and Media manager ?

 

Thanks