Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
jij
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

So perhaps I should try a lower version?

 

 

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

if DTM is still trying to access internet after modifying the file, yes you should try lower ver
*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

[ Edited ]

As I mentioned above I went back to version 4.2sp2. This rev is working for me as it does not try to access the internet. It is odd that I previously had rev 4.3 working. Perhaps some conflict has arisen from some software or update that was installed after I installed 4.3. From other posts I found that people are seeing the problem with 4.3, 4.5, and 4.6. RIM should definitely provide a fix/workaround for this problem. There are many who are running into it. Do they pay attention to these support forums?

 

Ted

Message Edited by sv_ted on 11-05-2008 07:22 PM
jij
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

Ted, I agree I hope RIM will give us a fix. I hope they monitor these forums and take note of things like this.

 

As an update I tried the 4.2 sp2 and while it does not connect to the net, it also does not drive the device in an all in one package like 4.5 and higher. 

 

I am trying the setup.ini thing with version 4.5 and we see if that works.

 

 

jij
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

and that would be a big negative .. no go. Time to try version 4.3 I guess.... update to follow.

 

Jij

jij
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

Version 4.3 still asks for an internet connection as well. I also tried the setup.ini option and it still wants to connect to the internet.

 

Im wondering if its a dll somewhere. I did a regshot of before and after, and cannot find a key that shows anything about updates or connecting to RIM 

 

 

Hopefully RIM will address this issue.. not they will read these forums anyway.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

New 8830, DM 4.5 fresh installation and I get the same message eventhough I am connected to the INet via cable. Very frustrating situation. . .very poor software. . .but I'll bet that if we sign up for support they'll find an answer!
Guru I
Posts: 18,517
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

did you desactivate the antivirus and the firewall ?
some vendors make it hard for the Desktop Manager to work properly.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

Thee originator has a corporate firewall that he does not want to allow the connections.

 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: The computer must be connected to the Internet in order to initially

Sure did. . .both the firewall and antivirus. . .but still no success.