Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Orange
Accepted Solution

Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

2061iBF2E96E7CA5C80C0Hi I just loaded up the Desktop Manager from Blackberry's website but when I click on the icon to start it I get the attached message. I also loaded the software from the CD in the box with the same result.

 

I can't do anything from here. Saving the file Desktop doesn't fix it. If I click on Find I get a message saying the filetype htmlfile is not found.

 

Any ideas please?

 

Thanks

 

Al

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

PS I'm running Windows Vista. Thanks

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Device: various
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

Have you tried to uninstall and reinstall or even a repair installation?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Accept as Solution" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the Star on the left of their post.
Elite I
Posts: 6,343
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

Are you downloading the software from this site?

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22

 

It looks like you're using IE. what if you try with another browser like Firefox or Chrome?

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

Thanks all for chipping in

 

I'm running Safari as my default browser (on a PC ... not a MAC). I tried an older version of the desktop software, and then downloaded the latest from the link suggested above all with no success and the same messages popping up.

 

:smileyhappy:

 

It doesn't like something on my PC when it tries to start up.

 

Many thanks again.

 

Al

 

Posts: 89,783
Likes: 23,821
Solutions: 6,137
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

Use a Firefox or IE browser.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

Thanks again folks for the suggestions but still no luck.

 

I've tried with Safari, IE, Firefox and Chrome ... all with the same result. Now tried three different versions of the software.

 

It seems to be connected as it says 'Connected' on the desktop page but its just not displaying the content !!

 

Oh well I'll keep trying stuff.

 

Thanks all

 

Al

Posts: 89,783
Likes: 23,821
Solutions: 6,137
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

 Download Desktop Manager from here:
https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22

 

You go to that link above.

 

You down click in the drop down box for your version you'd like to download.

 

You download it. It takes a while according to the speed of your internet connection.

 

Once downloaded, you located on your PC the EXE file you downloaded, and you double click on it. It will guide you through the remaining prompts to complete the installation.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Elite I
Posts: 6,343
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

 


aloconnor wrote:

Thanks again folks for the suggestions but still no luck.

 

I've tried with Safari, IE, Firefox and Chrome ... all with the same result. Now tried three different versions of the software.

 

It seems to be connected as it says 'Connected' on the desktop page but its just not displaying the content !!

 

Oh well I'll keep trying stuff.

 

Thanks all

 

Al


So it's installed now? You're able to open the program and see that it says "Connected"?

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Unable to load Desktop Manager - I get this message - Any ideas please?

No I can't see anything.

 

I still get the screens at the top of this thread and the dialogue box forces me to Find Save or Cancel but with all three options I just end up with the blank screen saying that "Navigation to the Webpage was cancelled"

 

I also tried switching off firewalls and file scanning from McAfee but still no luck.

 

It seems to want to download a file called desktop.html from the product.dll file but my security is stopping it for some reason.

 

Thanks

 

Al