Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Desktop Software

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-23-2008
My Device: Not Specified

no Blackberry synch screen on computer

[ Edited ]

I just purchased a new HP desktop and downloaded the appropriate desktop software through att.  It downloaded just fine but I do not have a blackberry screen on the computer to facilitate synching.

 

Any suggesting as how to proceed?

 

Mark

Message Edited by halvormark on 04-23-2008 05:12 PM
Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-07-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: 8686857969

Re: no Blackberry synch screen on computer


halvormark wrote:

I just purchased a new HP desktop and downloaded the appropriate desktop software through att.  It downloaded just fine but I do not have a blackberry screen on the computer to facilitate synching.

 

Any suggesting as how to proceed?

 

Mark

Message Edited by halvormark on 04-23-2008 05:12 PM

Hi Mark.

 

You say you installed the DTM.  Can you access the program from Windows? 

===========================================================
If I've helped, please click the Kudos button.
If your issue has been resolved, please mark it as solved.

Joe
===========================================================
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-23-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: no Blackberry synch screen on computer

Thanks for the reply.

 

Yes, I installed the DTM with software 4.2 which I downloaded from Blackberry site.  The synch screen does not come up on my monitor.  However, the software is listed in my programs.  I have loaded it and removed it several times and it doesn't seem to make any difference.

 

I have not experienced this before when I have loaded the Blackberry software into a new desktop.  Not sure what to do. 

Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-07-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: 8686857969

Re: no Blackberry synch screen on computer


halvormark wrote:

Thanks for the reply.

 

Yes, I installed the DTM with software 4.2 which I downloaded from Blackberry site.  The synch screen does not come up on my monitor.  However, the software is listed in my programs.  I have loaded it and removed it several times and it doesn't seem to make any difference.

 

I have not experienced this before when I have loaded the Blackberry software into a new desktop.  Not sure what to do. 


What error message comes up when you try to run DTM?  Does windows recognize your BB when you connect it via the USB cable?

 

It sounds like a conflict with some other software you are running. 

===========================================================
If I've helped, please click the Kudos button.
If your issue has been resolved, please mark it as solved.

Joe
===========================================================