Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
New Contributor
gelys
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
My Device: 8900 javelin
My Carrier: Cable&Wireless

8900 Javelin can't be updated to 5.0

I had tried to update my OS bb software version from 4.6 to 5.0 and it have been an impisible
mision.
I
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,987
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: 8900 Javelin can't be updated to 5.0

[ Edited ]

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

Please describe exactly what you have tried and exactly what has happened...including the exact and complete content of any error messages presented. From "it have been an impisible mision" (sic), there is not even a guess to make for you...

 


 

In any event, the simplest way is to, on a PC (you cannot do this on MAC):

1) Uninstall, from your PC, any BB OS packages

2) Make sure you have the BB Desktop Software already installed

3) Download and install, to your PC, the BB OS package you desire:

4) If that OS package is from a carrier other than the carrier for which your BB was originally manufactured, then delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML (there will be at least one, perhaps 2)

5) Launch the Desktop Software and connect your BB...the software should offer you the OS package you installed to your PC. If, during the process, your BB presents a "507" error, simply unplug the USB cord from the BB and re-insert it...don't do anything else...this should allow the install to continue.

Don't forget to backup.


If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gelys
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
My Device: 8900 javelin
My Carrier: Cable&Wireless

8900 Javelin can't be updated to 5.0

Hello and thanks for the welcome. Below I explain my problem:

I had installed on my laptop  the Desktop Manager, from the original blackberry's CD of installation  . This version of DM is 4.7 and every time I connect my blackberry tells me that there is no updates available. So I set out to update the version of DM to the most recent, 7.0 ... By doing so the laptop stopped recognizing with the DM program my Blackberry Smartphone device, but it still is recognized by the laptop via USB and Bluetooth connection. I have already downloaded and saved the blackberry's Software of OS version 5.0 on my laptop: 8900M_PBr4.6.1_rel167_PL4.2.0.72_A4.6.1.101_Cable & Wireless.exe, is this one right? and after finally having had trouble downloading the application of the DM (I had to download a "handled version" because the DM software didnt load by itself) now the program does not recognize the blackberry and I can not do anything. Could you tell me what to do now?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gelys
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
My Device: 8900 javelin
My Carrier: Cable&Wireless

Re: 8900 Javelin can't be updated to 5.0

The phone even charges when I connected it via USB with my laptop but the program DM, no longer recognizes the celphone.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,987
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: 8900 Javelin can't be updated to 5.0


gelys wrote:

I have already downloaded and saved the blackberry's Software of OS version 5.0 on my laptop: 8900M_PBr4.6.1_rel167_PL4.2.0.72_A4.6.1.101_Cable & Wireless.exe, is this one right?


I have no way to know...you must check it against what is installed on your BB:

  • KB23393 How to check the model number and version of installed BlackBerry device software on a BlackBerry smartphone

You would verify against the highlighted section above. If those match, then this BB OS package is likely the one that is installed to your BB.


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,987
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: 8900 Javelin can't be updated to 5.0

[ Edited ]

I suggest this thread:

It starts with a process for cleanly starting over, and there is some discussion, and there is also a post (15) with links to older Desktop Software versions, if those are needed. Note that this is not, by any means, guaranteed to work...but it has worked for many to resolve issues they are having.

 

 

 


 

In addition, here is the list of troubleshooting articles...hopefully something will be useful:

  • http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Desktop-Software/Tips-for-getting-BlackBerry-Deskt...
  • KB10144 How to force the detection of the BlackBerry smartphone using Application Loader
  • KB28457 BlackBerry Desktop Software is unable to detect the BlackBerry Smartphone due to administrative permissions
  • KB28458 BlackBerry Desktop Software is unable to detect the BlackBerry Smartphone when user account control is enabled
  • KB28459 BlackBerry Desktop Software is unable to detect the BlackBerry Smartphone when a full version of Roxio® Media Manager is installed 
  • KB28456 BlackBerry Desktop Software is unable to detect the BlackBerry Smartphone when USB selective suspend setting is enabled
  • KB28444 The BlackBerry smartphone is not detected by BlackBerry Desktop Software when connected by USB to a USB hub or a docking station
  • KB28443 BlackBerry Desktop Software cannot detect the BlackBerry smartphone when it is connected via USB
  • KB02640 Troubleshooting USB connections
  • KB15486 Top 10 BlackBerry smartphone and BlackBerry Desktop Manager troubleshooting tips
  • KB00125BlackBerry Desktop Software cannot detect the BlackBerry smartphone
  • KB11439 BlackBerry Desktop Software does not detect the BlackBerry smartphone when it is connected
  • KB00019 No PIN displayed in BlackBerry Desktop Redirector
  • KB10938 "USB charging current is insufficient" appears on the BlackBerry smartphone
  • KB01451 How to turn on advanced synchronization logging if a wired synchronization fails
  • KB19717 The BlackBerry smartphone is not detected as a USB Mass Storage Device when connected to a computer
  • KB16310 Media Transfer Protocol and the BlackBerry Storm smartphone
  • http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Desktop-Software/Desktop-Manager-quot-disconnected...

Also, check that you are using only root USB ports...no hubs (sometimes the front-side ports are hubs...use a rear USB port). And make sure to try disabling USB power management in your system configuration (Device Manager).

Also check on conflicting software...it has been reported that the software package NTI Shadow&Ninja can cause a conflict; removing them and reinstalling the BB desktop software allows it to install correctly.

Apologies in advance if this is redundant -- there's no way to be sure if you've already seen and tried these. Also apologies if any are not presently available...RIM takes them up and down at will as they revise things.

Hopefully something there is helpful!

Good luck!

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.