Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Visitor
pantrychef
My Device: Not Specified

BB Messenger - Messages intermittently not sending

Hello Forum,

I have been using blackberry since 2007 on a 7290 (T-Mobile).  Last July I upgraded to a 8310 (AT&T) and have been having interrmittent problems on the Blackberry Messenger application.

The problem I am encountering is that occasionally messages are not sent, stuck in 'pending'.  I think it may be timing related as the next message I send goes out but the first remains unsent; I stop checking after about one week.

I have found that I can fairly predictably replicate this (~50% of the time):

1.  Holster the unit;

2.  Remove from holster;

3.  Enter unit unlock password;

4.  Start messenger application;

5.  Type a message and hit enter.

When steps 2~5 are completed within 15 seconds, the message is quite likely stalled in pending.

Initially I thought the issue is related to the v4.2 device software; however, the problem remained when I updated to the 4.5 software.  I am using Blackberry Messenger version 4.5.0.110(152) for AT&T.

An observation is that my wife does not lock her 8310 and she claims to encounter what I observed only once in her usage recollection.

While I understand that there are other instant messaging applications available for my device, I have found the messenger application to be the most robust, not to mention the app being part of the OS.

I think this may be a glitch because I have used the 7290 for 14 months.  Using the messenger application exactly as I have described above nearly a dozen times every day, I have encountered exactly one occasion where a single message was pending, though that message was eventually sent about 15 minutes later.