Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Contributor
johnripper
My Device: Not Specified

BIS and Hotmail

Hello all,

i am quite new to the BB system.

I want to use a Hotmail account to sync with the BB. Searching the internet there a different information if I can sync calender and contacts with a windows live account.

Is this possible or not`?

I wan to habe sync via Outlook to a Cloud service and then to a BB device for emails, kalender and contacts. Gmail is not good for syncing with Outlook (paid account required) so I deceide for hotmail.

Would be glad if someone can help me with that.

Thanks

JR

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BIS and Hotmail

[ Edited ]

Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

HotMail/Windows Live do not have the ability to synchronize anything but email over the air (OTA). All other organizer data (e.g., calendar, contacts) must synchronize via USB/BT tether to a PC with a compatible PIM. See this KB for those that are compatible:

• KB12268Applications supported by BlackBerry Desktop Software for synchronization

If your desire is truly to synchronize all data OTA, then you must subscribe to a service from some provider that will give you BES (BlackBerry Enterprise Service). With the distribution of BES Express by RIM (which is free), I suspect many email providers may be starting to offer BES-level services to their customers. If you find one of those, you will have full OTA synchronization of all organizer data (email, calendar, contacts, etc.). And, to anticipate the question, no -- I don't know any services that offer this (and I doubt any will offer it for free).

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!