Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

New Contributor
htpdinsw
My Device: Curve 3G 9300

Blackberry OS 6 Download

Hello,

I'm new to blackberry and to this community forum, and hope if someone can help me out here.

I got an unlocked/unbranded Blackberry Curve 3G 9300, which comes with OS5

I want to upgrade it to OS6.

I downloaded Blackberry Desktop Manager, but is telling me there's no software update available.

I then learnt that this is due to being in a restricted region and neither App World, nor Software Updates are available.

I contacted my Service Provider, and they provided me with a link to OS6 directly designed for them. (Vodafone Egypt)

https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=69CB3EA317A32C4E6143E665FDB20B14

If there's a OS6 available for download, then why do I need to download a branded one while I paid the full cost of the phone to get it unbranded/unlocked?

Is there a direct link for exactly the same version that is unbranded for my phone (a Generic Version)?

PS: Cannot obtain through Blackberry Desktop Manager.

Thanks in advance.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Solutions: 5,951
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry OS 6 Download

The most recent officially released OS for the 9300 model is 6.0.0.431

Device operating system releases are "released" by specific carriers once they have certified and trained their support techs, but still, you are able to load to any carrier's same model by following the instructions below. Some users might worry they will void their device warranty by loading an OS from another carrier. There is really nothing to worry about. Please read more information on that here: