Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
New Contributor
noteboox
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

Bought official Blackberry 8320 from your dealer in Ukraine, but it hasn't ukrainian input, only russian.

It there a firmware or something to add ukrainian input to device?

Please use plain text.
Developer
rafo
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

[ Edited ]
There is no way for end-users to add additional fonts/input method to an existing device operating systems.

RIM does not release operating systems for end-users.

RIM provides wireless operators with "raw" operating systems.

RIM does not work with end-users in this field.

Operating systems are preparing by wireless operators who distribute devices and sell relevant services.

Contact an ukrainian wireless operator who sells blackberry devices/blackberry services and ask for multi-language device os.

And there is a chance that in this case you'll get a device with ukrainian language/input support.




Message Edited by rafo on 16-05-2009 03:04 PM
----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,480
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,824
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

If you can find the OS that has the Ukranian language, it is a process of moving those language cod files from that OS to the new OS, but I don't know the exact process, and then editing another file.

 

Check out this service and see if they can help you:

http://drzahwa.com/default.aspx




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Developer
rafo
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

Be careful with playing with device OS cod files.

You can brick the device.
----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
noteboox
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

I can read ukrainian symbols just good. The problem is in typing! :smileysad:

It's just quite of strange - to sold device in country without supporting the one's language.

 

Ok, thank you guys, I will try to contact RIM official dealer here and return device if there is no solution.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,480
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,824
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)


rafo wrote:
Be careful with playing with device OS cod files.

You can brick the device.

I don't think anyone will brick a device playing with language cod files.

 

But just in case, I mentioned the professional service linked in my post :smileyhappy:




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Member
gmsb123
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

Hi

I want to add one more question about this subject.

I just got a new blackberry as a present. It is brand new. But I am moving to Ucraine soon, would it work over there? can I just activate it with any ucranian carrier???

thanks a lot!

Please use plain text.
New Member
tciuriak
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-06-2009
My Device: Bold 9000 & Pearl 8110
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

That lack of a Ukrainian input is *such* a PITA!! 

 

I constantly have to refer back to a special text and email I have stored (because they seem to use different codepages and you can't cross-copy!) and swap applications back and forth so I can copy and past the і, ї & є letters that don't exist in Russian but *do* in Ukrainian.  That said, I often cheat and just change back to the English keyboard input to type in i's. 

 

Regardless, it's infuriating..../Taras

Please use plain text.
New Member
e-ventures
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-13-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

Blackberry needs to add Ukrainian option to input languages! Iphone has it. Should we all switch?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
noteboox
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry in Ukraine (question to RIM)

It is disgusting! The company sells phones in one of the greatest European countries and has not established support of an official language of this country. Shame to the RIM!

I consider possibility to sue on them.

Please use plain text.