Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
New Contributor
xavierex
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Can´t register my BB on BIS

Hi,

 

I just bought a Blackberry Pearl 8100 on ebay that was advertised as NEW, never opened. The phones works, but when i tried to register the phone for the Blackberry Internet Service with my PIN and IMEI i got a message that says that the phone is already registered with another service provider and that should be re-registered.

 

I found out that the phone is branded as Global (a carrier from philipines). So i entered to the Global (BIS) website and when I entered the PIN and IMEI it says that this phone is not registered.

 

So i don't get it, when i try with my local provider it says is already registered with another provider, and when I try with Global (carrier from philipines) it says is not registered.

 

Please can someone tell me what to do in order to register my phone with my local carrier?

 

Thank you very much!!

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,177
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS

Call your carrier and beg them to get the pin released for you.  If you can't do that, contact www.horizonwirelessonline.com and they can get it released for you.   It sounds like it's not as "new" as they claim.  Someone has an email account setup with that pin/imei
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
xavierex
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS

Well. the phone seems new and it works with my sim card, i can make calls and send sms, the problem comes when I try to register to use Blackberry Internet Service. What I don´t understand is that the PIN/IMEI has not been registered to any user on the Original carrier but still I cannot create an account with my local carrier.

 

Anyhow i will contact my carrier and beg them to talk to RIM and have my PIN released. I hope it works.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
shiyizh
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS

Have you tried calling your provider and give them your phone I'd for them to re resigner or reinstalled US version BB software?
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
xavierex
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS

I went to costumer service of my carrier and told them about the problem. They were very helpful and solved problem in about 2 days. Now my BB is registered and working in BIS...
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
amandasberry75
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS

I work for att and check the internal imei to the imei posted on the back of phone . To do thi**bleep** *#06# and real imei should come up on home screen also check the registerd service provider # programed into the phone to be sure they match , go into your local svc provider and let a store agent deal directly w tech from your svc provider to reprogram all registered #s in phone . Or send it off to warrenty they allways will figure this out or replacement will be sent to you as again registered hopefully to the correct co.
Please use plain text.
New Member
daveface
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-12-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS

Hey all first post!

 

Short version of my story! Partners phone got water damaged in a house flood!! So i have purchased her a new one off eBay (Curve) ex-02-stock, which is Brand New unlocked with un-used original PIN!

 

I currently have a BB contract with Orange and have proceeded to put my SIM into the device; however I proceeded to register the phones PIN on the Orange Online email system BIS – Change Device! However when I did this I was presented with the error “The information you have provided is not valid for this service provider” do you know a way around this problem?  

 

Need Help Please! Thought i would tag it to this thread!


Thanks,

 

Dave 

Please use plain text.
New Member
aayushishere
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS

For many ppl out there, with a similar problem, solution is simply,

options > advanced options > host routing table, hit menu key and select register now

Then,

 

Try setting up your email from the email settings on the device.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ng_sasa
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2012
My Device: Storm 9520
My Carrier: VIP - Serbia

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS

I just bough secondhand 9520. Everything works fine but registering to BIS service. My mobile provider says that "they cannot connect my PIN and IMEI to system". When I switch my SIM card to my old 9500 everything works fine (BIS also). Any help? 

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,186
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Can´t register my BB on BIS


ng_sasa wrote:

I just bough secondhand 9520. Everything works fine but registering to BIS service. My mobile provider says that "they cannot connect my PIN and IMEI to system". When I switch my SIM card to my old 9500 everything works fine (BIS also). Any help? 


Hi and Welcome to the Community!

Any BB can be used on any carrier that runs the same radio frequencies that the BB is capable of (and I've no idea if your's are such). But, to bring a BB onto a carrier network that they did not sell to you, there are several hurdles to cross:

1) The carrier must say "yes" to the fact...they own their network and have every right to say what devices will be allowed to connect to it. If they say "no", then that's the end of it.

  • From what you say, this does not sound like a problem


2) You must be sure that your BB is properly unlocked from it's originally manufactured-for carrier...see this helpful thread for details:

3) You must get all of your voice level services functioning on the carrier, before you even try anything about data

  • Again, I'm guessing that this is OK


4) You must subscribe, from the carrier, to an adequate data plan to enable the BB-proprietary services you desire

  • From what you say, this sounds fine


5a) If the carrier directly supports your specific model BB, then you can proceed with registering the BB onto their network, generating the proper Service Book delivery to your BB, and proceeding to function.

  • This is a problem...from all I can see, they do not natively support the 9520, so this may be the root of the issue


5b) But, if the carrier does not directly support your specific model number of BB, then the challenges are much greater as most carrier systems will not deliver, to the BB, the necessary service books to enable the BB-proprietary data services, even if you do subscribe to them.

  • There are tricks to try and get the proper Service Books to your BB since the carrier system will not deliver them. It requires having access to a fully functioning (on the carrier network you need) BB, extracting the SBs, and them importing them to your BB
  • This process does not always work
  • Sometimes, the folks in the shop can help


So, depending on all of that, your BB may or may not ever fully function on that carrier network. It can be quite tricky to accomplish, especially if 5b applies. So take a look at all of that and decide how you wish to proceed. Most folks wind up just buying a new BB if 5b applies.

 

But...this concerns me:


ng_sasa wrote:

My mobile provider says that "they cannot connect my PIN and IMEI to system".


See this:

  • KB05099 Steps to take before selling or after buying a previously owned BlackBerry smartphone

If the seller did not properly complete all of their steps, most importantly (based on what your carrier said) Seller step 2 (releasing the BB PIN from the old carriers BIS system), then no other carrier can create a BIS account for that BB. Then again, if by what they say, you cannot have even voice services, then the problem could be something else entirely (e.g., reported as lost, stolen, etc.).

 

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.