Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

New Contributor
scottvacek
My Device: Not Specified

Help with Viewing Documents on 8830 and other questions

Greetings all...this is my first post....I'm new to my 8830 and need to sort out how best to be able to view file attachments like Word Docs and PDFs, among others....  I am an independent contractor and so all incoming mail is via POP-3 accounts.   

-Verizon tech support seems only marginally informed about this ...they tell me that I need to download a plug-in to make viewing DOC and PDF files possible...they made it sound like I would be lucky to get that much done, and could not speak to the reliability of third-party plug-ins or whether they would potentially hose-up my hand-held.

-I'm not really sure what an Enterprise Server is, but I know I'm not using one, and I noticed in this Blackberry site that there seems to be some alternative to receiving and viewing documents and PDFs that is not thru Enterprise Servers....

SO, basically my question is this:  What is the recommended way for me to be able to view the most kinds of file attachments in my current mail mode?

Also....can anybody tell me how to change the signature at the end of my handheld mails?   Not crazy about "Sent from my Verizon Wireless Blackberry"....  I'm thinking of something more like "Launched cordlessly from my Crackberry".... 

Have a happy day....

sv 

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
JeremyKitching
My Device: Curve 8900

Re: Help with Viewing Documents on 8830 and other questions