Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
Contributor
mediabirdie
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
My Device: BBZ10 (so far), Playbook

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

Do you have advice re: Step #4 "ensure both boxes are checked" where the second box:  Delete all currently installed applications is greyed out and not an option.

 

I am attempting to re-load all software due to a malfunctioning Blackberry Bold 9000, as per the fun instructions from my carrier, Rogers.

 

Thankyou in advance

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,729
Likes: 23,109
Solutions: 5,957
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System


mediabirdie wrote:

Do you have advice re: Step #4 "ensure both boxes are checked" where the second box:  Delete all currently installed applications is greyed out and not an option.

 


Ignore that and proceed.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
khaphie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-11-2013
My Device: blackberry 9780

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

I can't find step 1 of OS on my phone. I can't find the Blackberry Desktop Manager to back up the data on my phone and to restore. I selected blackberry protect to back up my data but it asked me to login into blackberry ID before it can proceed.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,729
Likes: 23,109
Solutions: 5,957
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

You'll need to download install & install the BlackBerry desktop software.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Elite I
Krypto
Posts: 6,657
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

This process must be completed on a Windows based computer (the instructions for Macs is a bit different). You cannot perform the OS reload via your BlackBerry smartphone.

I hope that info helps!

If you want to thank someone for their comment, do so by clicking the Thumbs Up icon.

If your issue is resolved, don't forget to click the Solution button on the resolution!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
subhendubanga
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
My Device: Curve 9380

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

Where will i get a open carrier (changeable carrier) software, as i don't use any fixed career... or in other sense unlock OS for my BB 9380?
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,729
Likes: 23,109
Solutions: 5,957
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

There is no such thing as 'open carrier OS'... all one needs to do to make the OS file "generic" for any user is to locate and delete the vendor.xml files on your PC after the OS file in question has been downloaded and extracted to your PC.

 

Device operating system releases are "released" by specific carriers once they have certified and trained their support techs, but still, you are able to load to any carrier's same model by following the instructions below.

  • Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml." (You might have another Vendor.xml file hiding on your computer. Open Windows Explorer and under the Organize button (on Windows 7, there are similar tools for Vista and XP) click on "Folder and search options." Under the View tab, make sure that your computer is set to show hidden folders and files. Once you've done this, search your C:\ drive for "Vendor.xml".)


**Starting with the later OS6 releases, there are now three copies of VENDOR.XML
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader (for 32-bit Windows XP/Vista/7)
==========OR============
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader (for 64-bit Windows Vista/7)
C:\Documents and Settings\*name*\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML
C:\Documents and Settings\*name*\Application Data\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML
You can also just search for VENDOR.XML. Make sure that you choose ADVANCED SEARCH and include hidden files. It should show the file in at three locations. Delete every copy that it finds.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
fgash
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
My Device: Curve 8310

Failed to Reload 4.5 Operating System

Hi,

 

I hve tried to reload device software on my BB curve 8310 but have failed.

I get this message when I use application loader:- "The blackberry desktop software does not have blackberry software for the device that you have connected to the computer. Contact your wireless service provider or system administrator."

 

when I use Desktop software I get this message:- " An error has occurred while downloading software for your device. please verify your internet connection or try again later if the problem persits.

 

will be greatfull for any help.

Thank you.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ankit_26812
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-08-2012
My Device: Curve 9380

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

Hi,

 

I would like to know if I am outof my primary country, and i format my device and update the OS. would my BBM would work or it will stop working since I am not in my country.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
Paka_Mille
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-11-2012
My Device: Curve 9360

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

I have a BB 8900 I can't use any apps I download, I get this error: Erro starting Screen Muncher: Class "net.rim.device.api.ui.Virtual. Keyboard not found. And I never got any upgrades of apps such as BBM. On BB app world under My World, there s Installed, Uninstaled & unavailable icons. Ofwhich in my other BB9360 don't hv the unavailable icon under my world. Please help

Please use plain text.