Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
New Contributor
Freshhh
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Orange

How to get internet working?

I bought a blackberry curve 8530 on pay as you go, and I can use my home wi-fi fine but I am wondering, how can i get internet to work anywhere?

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,486
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,824
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How to get internet working?

Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan enabled on your account with your carrier or mobile provider?

You must, in order to get the RIM push email functions you are looking for, as well as addtional BlackBerry data services such as the internet browser, Facebook for BlackBerry, BlackBerry Messenger, and much more.

So, call your carrier and inquire about having the BlackBerry Data Plan added to your account.

Good luck.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Freshhh
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Orange

Re: How to get internet working?

Im guessing i dont have BlackBerry Data plan enabled because I havnt done it myself?

 

And this is gonna sound so stupid - what is my carrier? My network is Orange?

 

Sorry

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,486
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,824
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How to get internet working?

carrier = mobile provider

 

Whose SIM card is your device.

 

Just different terminologies for different sides of the big pond.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Freshhh
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Orange

Re: How to get internet working?

Thank you I will contact them now.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Freshhh
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Orange

Re: How to get internet working?

Ok I just paid £5 per month for the services. Will it all work now? Thanks so much for your help.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,486
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,824
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How to get internet working?

As long as that is The BlackBerry Data Plan, yes. You might need to give it a few hours to get provisioned to your device, and it will.

 

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Freshhh
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Orange

Re: How to get internet working?

Ok yesterday I activiated and they said wait 24 hours. Its still not working, and i rang them up again and they say they did activated it again or something.  I recieved the textts aswel but its still not working :smileyfrustrated:

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
nazia123
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-08-2014
My Device: blackberry 8520
My Carrier: ebay

Re: How to get internet working?

i got my blackbery off ebay and i've connected it to wifi n giffgaff APN setting but my internet browser is still not working.. would you know the reason why?

 

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,486
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,824
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How to get internet working?

Read this thread... you must have the BlackBerry Data Plan.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.