Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: I haven't got Edge but I've got unlimited internet with my data plan

No, that menu doesn't apply to me because I don't have 3G.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: I haven't got Edge but I've got unlimited internet with my data plan

Try checking there anyway. EDGE is generally considered between 2G and 3G so I wouldn't be suprised if the BB treats it as 3G

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: I haven't got Edge but I've got unlimited internet with my data plan

No, sorry, I already checked, not there.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: I haven't got Edge but I've got unlimited internet with my data plan

Not there? meaning the option doesn't exist?

 

I took a look at the 8520 user manual, and it should support EDGE. And I found the exact option I was talking about:

  1. On the Home screen, click the Manage Connections icon.
  2. Click Mobile Network Options.
  3. Change the Network Mode field.
  4. Press the Escape key.

 

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: I haven't got Edge but I've got unlimited internet with my data plan

Nope.
This is what I see when I go on mobile network options in order:

Data services. On
While roaming. On

Mobile network. Virgin
Network selection mode. Automatic

The above is exactly what I see when I click mobile network options.
I changed it from automatic to manual and nothing changed.
I tried to change the mobile network to something other than Virgin but it didn't work - still no Edge.

Thanks for your effort though.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: I haven't got Edge but I've got unlimited internet with my data plan

Well, you stumped me.

Posts: 89,304
Likes: 23,765
Solutions: 6,118
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: I haven't got Edge but I've got unlimited internet with my data plan

I'd do a SIM swap. Again.

 

It's simple, free and not invasive as other things.

If you're in the store, insert the new SIM, see if you get EDGE, and if not, then you probably need to a handset swap.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code