Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
Contributor
silva277
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Meditel

Re: Mobile Hotspot

Hello! 

 

So, in resume, I have now on my white bold 9900:

V.7.1.714, platform 5.1.0.532

3G bands 1.4.8

mobile radio version: 5.0.2.1.1, sv48

 

but still don't have hotspot

 

this phone is sim free

 

________________________________________

 

bold 9930 black

V7.1.0.580, platform 5.1.0.429

3G bands 1,8

Radio version:  5.0.2.1.1, sv25

it has full the full application hot spot included.

 

Could you please, if possible, check what might be worng, so that i cannot have the hotspot

 

Thanks

Adri

 

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,155
Likes: 23,026
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mobile Hotspot

See above. Your mobile provider must allow that feature.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Member
How_Art
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-20-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: MTN SA

Re: Mobile Hotspot

Silva, as J Sanders had already post a comment that you need 0S 7.1 or higher and that your Mobile Operator should also allow this option. Perhaps you should check with Meditel and ensure they are aware and they do support this feature.

 

I am on 9810 and even though I couldn't get any update available to my Desktop Manager, I manually downloaded 7.1 Bundle 2061 and had it manually installed (backup your device). I immediately after the update had the Hot Spot available on my device.

 

https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=14491B756B3A51DAAC41C24863285549

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
silva277
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Meditel

Re: Mobile Hotspot

How_Art, thank you for reply.
On the 9900 white, I have actually the 7.1 bundle 2061 (7.1.0.714). But still doesn't have the hotspot.

I had until very recently both 9930 (black) and 9900 (white). Both were using the same operator, and still 9930 had the hotspot, but 9900 didn't.

It is very bizarre.

Hotspot, is a tool that blackerry offers, and it is not nice not to be able to use it.
I have other phones with hotspot, like HTC chacha (very basic) but hotspot works, and the iphone hotspot also works, and htc flyer hotspot also works.

Hope I'll be able to have it eventually.

Never theless I will follow link and do the instalation as per you comments.
Thank you very much
Adri
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,155
Likes: 23,026
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mobile Hotspot

Silva, please ask your mobile provider about the allowance of this feature. 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
silva277
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Meditel

Re: Mobile Hotspot

Hi Sanders I will.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
silva277
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Meditel

Re: Mobile Hotspot

Hello And happy new year!!

 

Just to advise you that hotspot service appears in my phone in Portugal but not in morocco.

SO, this is definately due to the carrier and not the phone or phone software!

 

Thank you all

Adriana

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,155
Likes: 23,026
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mobile Hotspot

Yes as stated in the system requirements you'll notice not all carriers support or allow the mobile hotspot feature.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ezklando
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900 - Touch and Type
My Carrier: Not bought from a network

Re: Mobile Hotspot

Guys sorry to bump in but, in updating your device manually by downloading the OS, does it have to correspond like where your device is from? Because everytime I check the internet, people have the same versions but in different country representatives is this a big matter? Or can I use any Os representing to any country for my phone? Ex: How_Art posted an OS from telenor serbia. Does this mean people's device that are non serbian cant use this?
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,288
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Mobile Hotspot


ezklando wrote:
Guys sorry to bump in but, in updating your device manually by downloading the OS, does it have to correspond like where your device is from? Because everytime I check the internet, people have the same versions but in different country representatives is this a big matter? Or can I use any Os representing to any country for my phone? Ex: How_Art posted an OS from telenor serbia. Does this mean people's device that are non serbian cant use this?

Hello,

 

There is no restriction. If the BB OS Package comes from a carrier other than the one the BB was originally manufactured for, there is a trick required (deleting the VENDOR.XML files from the PC after installing the OS package to the PC), but any OS package from any carrier can be used on any BB of the exact model number for which the OS package was created.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.