Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

New Contributor
boycie
My Device: Not Specified

New to BB....need plenty of help.

Hi Everyone,  I am totally new to BB and not the most technically minded.

Right, I'll start from the begining, I need some help setting up my BB email account, I know there are plenty of other threads in here with the same problem but I would like to give you all the info I have got.

I was given a BB by my employer yesterday, I asked for one as I'm often out and about and can only read my work emails when I get back from work in the evening on my laptop.  It is a Pearl 8120 on Orange network.  We are only a small company with no IT department.  Anyway once we had sorted the sim cards and the phone activated I started the set up wizard.  When I got to the the email set up it asked if:

1)I want to use a work email account with a Blackberry Enterprise Server

2) Skip email set up

So I was thrown straight away, I set to work on the manuals and in there it told me to click on "go to" in the phone menu then click on the icon "email settings".  This is all well and good but there was no "email settings" icon there.

I loaded the cd and installed the software.  Following the instuctions online it said I could setup using my pc, so I tried this, I entered in all my email info (gained from my outlook express settings) and all the phone info (pin and imei).  It then said the attempt had failed, I am sure all the info was correct.

Bearing in mind I know nothing about BB, I am certain (after all the research last night on the web) I need to set up a BIS account to use my work email, maybe wrong, but everything I read points that way.