Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
Contributor
mr_cowboy1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

I have an 8310 that is in the reboot loop.  I've done the loader /nojvm etc to try and force the o/s into it.  the loading gets to almost all the way complete for both 4.2 and 4.5 from AT&T, removed the vendor.xml as well, and the blackberry gives an unspecified error 0x00000005 and crashes the loader and the phone goes back to rebooting.  I've done this numerous times.  is this blackberry down for the count, or is there something else that I can try that I haven't yet?
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

Did your process wipe the device completely first, before loading the OS?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
mr_cowboy1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

There is no OS on it to do anything with since it's in the constant reboot loop.  how do you Process wipe the system in this case?  when I ran the loader, it said that it was erasing applications before loading system software.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

You will need to use JL_Cmder to wipe the device and subsequently load the OS to the device. Follow the instructions here:

http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/How_do_I_wipe_the_BlackBerry_using_Jl_Cmder%3F

If JL_Cmder does not work, follow this instructional:
http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/What_to_do_next_if_Jl_Cmder_will_not_connect_and_wipe




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
mr_cowboy1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

I've run the JL_cmdr and it can't connect long enough to the device before it reboots again.  I've done the apploader/loader deal and it will start to load the software and applications, then about about 7/8ths the way done, the loader does a "unspecified error J:0x00000005" and the blackberry goes into the reboot stage again.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

Keep trying, with and without the battery in the device.

 

I've seen it take 20 tries.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
mr_cowboy1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

I've been doing it from the command prompt "javaloader -u wipe" and it comes back with "cannot connect to port"  the blackberry without the battery in it, displays the battery icon with a line through it. and doesn't do anything, is this a good sign of something that I should be able to wipe it?
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

Yep, means the battery is not charged or not present.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
mr_cowboy1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

ok, after repeatedly trying to wipe with and without the battery (better than 20 times each), it still had problems connecting to the port and still didn't wipe.  is there any other solution that I can try?  I also tried re-loading the OS again and it still gave the unable to complete the loading operation, a fatal error has occurred while updating your device's software, please try again.

 

unspecified error encountered [j:0x00000005]

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Nuked/Bricked Blackberry 8310

Make certain your USB cable is connected to one of the PC's main rear USB ports. Not a USB hub, nor a monitor USB port, nor a USB port on the front of the PC.

And, try a different PC if you have access to another. Using JLCmder per my instructons in the link I gave you is truly successful 95% of the time.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.