Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-20-2010
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Claro Argentina

OS 6 in Curve 9300

Hello there,

I have a bb curve 9300 3g. Supposedly, it is preppeared to update to os6 when all carriers in argentina approve the os, or something like that. My carrier is claro and mi phone is running 9300/5.0.0.845 .

Ice been reading and there are some ways to update the bold 9700. Is there any way to update my os to 6?

And in the case that i have any problems (ie, phone running slow, etc) can i go back to 5?

Thank you
Hall of Famer II
Posts: 51,401
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: OS 6 in Curve 9300

 

Hello,

 

From a PC, you can install any OS package to a BB via this procedure:

 

 

Note that while written for "reload" and the Storm, it can be used to upgrade, downgrade, or reload any BB device model -- it all depends on the OS package you download and install to your PC. You can even use a different carriers OS package by simply inserting, between steps 1 and 2, the deletion, on your PC, of a file named VENDOR.XML. Be sure that you remove, from your PC, any other BB device OS packages as having more than one installed to the PC can cause conflicts with this procedure.

 

 

 

If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

 


  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

 

Good luck and let us know!

 




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-20-2010
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Claro Argentina

Re: OS 6 in Curve 9300

Hi sgardne,

Thanks for the repply. I have to delete the os 5 from the pc, or can i store in another folder?

In case that i dont like or so, can i go back to 5?

Thank you...
Hall of Famer II
Posts: 51,401
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: OS 6 in Curve 9300

You have to uninstall from your PC the device OS package...but you can keep the installable file anywhere you like. It's the fact of the OS package being installed into Windows that can create the conflict...the mere existence of the installable file is irrelevant.

 

As for falling back, as the information says, you can install ANY OS to your BB via the procedure...it all depends on what OS package you have installed into Windows to control what version LOADER.EXE will act upon.

 

Good luck!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-20-2010
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Claro Argentina

Re: OS 6 in Curve 9300

Thanks, I ll give it a try. I ll tell you how it went later.

Thanks