Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Problems adding OWA account to BB

Hi,

 

I'm trying to add my work Outlook account, which works fine through web browser, to BB on www.mobileemail.vodafone.net.

 

I fill my details as following:

Outlook Web Access URL: https://owa.mydomain.com/exchange

User Name: domain\user

Password: ***

Email address: user@mydomain.com

Mailbox name: tried both "user" and just blank

 

But I receive the following error:

A connection could not be established to owa.mydomain.com/exchange. Please check that the server name is correct and that the server is available.

 

There is also an example on that site how to input Web Access URL, it contains just http, no SSL is mentioned. Does it mean that BB does not support SSL?

 

Or what may be the problem? Could someone help?

 

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

Hi,

 

Exactly the same problem here :

- Exchange 2007 server

- OWA URL : https://www.mydomain.fr/owa

- Valid certificate

 

I know OWA works because I can use my mailbox in a PC browser using the OWA URL, I can use ActiveSync on a HTC WindowsMobile device, and even on an iPhone using the Exchange protocol Apple supported. I could even use the OWA URL in the BB browser after accepting the certificate.

 

But where is the problem with BIS and OWA 2007 ?

 

My BIS address is http://www.blackberry.orange.fr/ but it doesn't really matter I suppose.

 

I've been searching an issue for this for a few days now on Google, the only answers I found are people asking the same question for an OWA 07 not working since a couple of weeks now.

 

Thanks.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

BTW, we use Exchange 2003.
Super Contributor
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: Mobilicity

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

[ Edited ]
Gigsel, enter the specific mailbox name. Don't leave it blank.

The second to last image on this link shows where to get the mailbox name for exchange 2003.

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB03133&slic...
Message Edited by aingaran on 02-26-2009 09:27 AM
Super Contributor
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: Mobilicity

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

No I don't have an ISA Server, but my Exchange Server has also SharePoint Services, don't know if it's the same problem...
Elite II
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

First of all get confirmation from your admin that whether office email system supports POP3 or IMAP supported.

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

POP3 and SSL POP3 service is disabled (the service in Windows is stopped).

I have enabled IMAP and SSL IMAP service but only on the local network, it's not accessible from outside.

The only accessible services from outside are OWA and ActiveSync on SSL ports.

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

Aingaran, thank you very much! I have missed this point somehow. Now it is OK.

 

Thanks a lot!

Super Contributor
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: Mobilicity

Re: Problems adding OWA account to BB

Kasi,

Are you sure that's the correct server URL? More often than no, the exchange server is setup on a sub-domain and top level domain.

Ie - not www.yourdomain.com and mail.yourdomain.com

Can you access the OWA address using a web browser?