Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Device software

Hall of Famer II
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2582), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: no BIS over wifi

cjvervaet wrote:

I too have experienced this exact issue since June 8th. I have been using BIS over wifi for the past six months without issue. This is a Vodafone issue, so the sad - smiley face is appropriate. The problem is, Vodafone - Spain is blocking the port that allows users the ability to access their BIS over wifi. When they block something intentional, this means it is their falt. It doesn't matter if you can access BIS via the mobile network or not. The way RIM and BIS are setup, is to allow users the ability to CHOOSE what type of connection they wish to use. If the user pays for a data plan, and that data plan is unlimited, and the user just so happens to have a wifi connection 'somewhere', they are allowed to pick what media transfer form they want to use. The intentional blocking of BIS over wifi is nothing more than a cheap way of getting your customers to utilize their data plans extensionally, in hopes to charge for extra data usage for those that don't have unlimited plans. Everywhere else on the planet that offers RIM and BIS for any mobile carrier, allows BIS over wifi. I have several colleagues that live in France, UK, Holland and Germany and they all have Vodafone with unlimited data plans for BIS. They ALL are able to use BIS over wifi. I was in Paris last week in our office, my colleague was connected to our corporate wifi as was I. His BIS over wifi worked fine, mine didn't. He has Vodafone, the same phone but has a plan in the UK. Anyone that tells you this isn't a Vodafone - Spain issue is either lying, or just clueless.