Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Adding a remote device

I have a user who lives in another state.  I want to add her device to my BES 4.1 server.  However, from what I see, I need to hook the device up to the server to add it.  Is there a way to add a remote Blackberry device to the server? 
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Adding a remote device

You can perform a wireless enterprise activation.

 

Add the user to the BES, set an enterprise activation password, and then go through the enterprise activation option on the device entering in the password you set in the BlackBerry Manager.

 

On the device: Options > Advanced Options > Enterprise Activation

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Guru III
Posts: 31,141
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Adding a remote device

some devices have different menus

 

Main screen select Settings, Options, Advanced Options, Enterprise Activation.

OR

Main screen select Tools, Settings, Options, Advanced Options, Enterprise Activation.

OR

In the device Options screen select Enterprise Activation.

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Adding a remote device

And this works even if your device has not been assigned to the user on BES?
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Adding a remote device

when performing a wireless enterprise activation devices are assigned to a user during the activation process.  You do not have to pre-configure a user with a specific device but rather simply add the user to the BES and set an enterprise activation password.
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Adding a remote device

But if the device has not been added to the server, how will the enterprise activation know where to go.  Sorry if this is a stupid question.  The remote user purchased their own BB and I don't see how my server will be aware of it to active it.  
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Adding a remote device

Review this: KB13850 - What is the enterprise activation process ... and it should then make sense.  If not, ask another question :smileyhappy:
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Guru III
Posts: 31,141
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Adding a remote device

on the BES

 

add user, right the new user and click Generate and Email Activation Password.

 

Its that simple, unless you have a spam filter that blocks the activation email.

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V