Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Vodafone

BES 5 Migration - Licensing

Hello - I have an existing BES 5.0.4 Server running against our Exchange 2010 Server, and I have a new BES 5.0.4 (MR7) running against our Exchange 2013 Server.  The two BES Servers are in seperate domains and I'm going to use the transporter tool to move them between servers.

 

The new BES Server (after hours & hours of pain) is now working perfectly against Exchange 2013 so I'm now ready to migrate the users.

 

The original BES Server is running our production licenses (approx 100 CALs) and SRP.  The new BES Server is running an eval license (20 users) and SRP.

 

My question now is how do I move the users across given the 20 user limit - can I move the CALs to the new server now, then move the users across, and then change the SRP after all users have been moved?

 

I have the option to move users individually or all in one go.

 

Thank you.

Steve

Super Contributor
Posts: 463
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
My Device: BB Z10

Re: BES 5 Migration - Licensing

Hi..

 

The Enterprise Transporter utility is designed to move users between BlackBerry domains. . not different Domains in your organization.. 

 

You can only migrate users within the same Exchange domain so in your scenario you will have to setup a new BES > delete the users from the old BES > wipe the handsets > add the users to the new BES > reactivate the handsets.Then move the Commercial Licenses. .

 

Good Luck Smiley Happy

Please update the result after applied..

Thanks
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BES 5 Migration - Licensing

Hi - thanks for your reply.

 

To clarify:

 

Single Active Directory Domain

Exchange Org comprising of Exchange 2010 & 2013

 

Old BES & New BES in the Same AD Domain

Old BES & New BES in different BlackBerry domains.

 

I believe the above is supported with the transporter tool?

 

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 463
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
My Device: BB Z10

Re: BES 5 Migration - Licensing

[ Edited ]

Yes you can do it. . 

 

Remember the following.. 

 

1. Take the back up of the Existing BES server database.

2. Add the CALs till 100 in the new server with out disturbing the CALS in the old server.

3. Move all the users to the new BES server

4. Observe the behaviour for 1 or 2 days then move all the CALS to the new server and disable all the BB services in old ones.

5. Also as per my knowledge and Experience you can be able to move max 20 users per one move. . you have to do 5 moves with 20 each to complete.

 

Good Luck .. 

Please update the result after applied..

Thanks
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BES 5 Migration - Licensing

Excellent, thank you.

Super Contributor
Posts: 463
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
My Device: BB Z10

Re: BES 5 Migration - Licensing

My pleasure. . Smiley Very Happy

Please update the result after applied..

Thanks
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-28-2014
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BES 5 Migration - Licensing

Hi - just to confirm the migration has been completed successfully.

 

In summary...

 

Exchange 2013 Migration Project.

 

New BES 5.0.4 (MR7) Server built and configured to work against Exchange 2013.

In a new BlackBerry Domain, using temporary (trial) SRP.

 

Users migrated across using the BlackBerry Transporter Tool.

No server or handset issues - 100+ users moved across successfully.

 

After a couple of days shutdown the old BES Server, move the production SRP to the new BES Server.

 

All done and happily working with Exchange 2013.


Thanks for your help.