Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

New Contributor
Tomskie
My Device: blade
Accepted Solution

BESv4.1.7 in one Exchange Org > Migrate > BES5.0.3 in a different Exchange Org

Hello All,

I'm a bit of a newbie to BES etc.  But have to migrate two BES instances:

The old one that is to be shut down is a v4.1.7 and runs off the back of Exchange 2007

The new one is v5.0.3 running off Exchange 2010

Users will be migrated to a new domain and mailboxes will be moved from 2007 to 2010.  We want to move the BES server they are on and move the licenses onto the v5 BES.

What is the best way of doing this? 

Is there any documentation with instructions?

How would the experts proceed? :smileywink:

Very grateful for any help!

Cheers

Tomsk

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BESv4.1.7 in one Exchange Org > Migrate > BES5.0.3 in a different Exchange Org

Tomskie wrote:

Hello All,

I'm a bit of a newbie to BES etc.  But have to migrate two BES instances:

The old one that is to be shut down is a v4.1.7 and runs off the back of Exchange 2007

The new one is v5.0.3 running off Exchange 2010

Users will be migrated to a new domain and mailboxes will be moved from 2007 to 2010.  We want to move the BES server they are on and move the licenses onto the v5 BES.

What is the best way of doing this? 

Is there any documentation with instructions?

How would the experts proceed? :smileywink:

Very grateful for any help!

Cheers

Tomsk

So two diff exchange orgs, this will require backing up old device, wipe, restore from backup and activate on new BES after you move the mail box.