Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

New Contributor
jacksors
My Device: Not Specified

Best way to deploy BES

Hello,

I am new to BES and we are going to be deploying an environment and wanted to get some feedback, thoughts, opinions on how to setup the BES server.

Do any of the components need to be deployed in the DMZ for security reasons? If not, what do I need to have open on my firewall to NAT communications down to the BES server?

I understand there is no HA available yet. Can anyone offer up what solutions you have in place to keep the environment running if you have a system failure or you have to take the machine down for maintenance?

In general, is it best to deploy all roles to one server? We will be supporting about 150 total users, right now we'd probably only be starting out with about 50. This will be running in a VM.

If anyone out there would like to describe how they have their environment configured and how its working for them, I would love to hear about it. Any suggestions you can offer about what to do or what not to do it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
My Device: Bold

Re: Best way to deploy BES

I've put my comments inline with your questions in bold.

jacksors wrote:

Hello,

I am new to BES and we are going to be deploying an environment and wanted to get some feedback, thoughts, opinions on how to setup the BES server.

Do any of the components need to be deployed in the DMZ for security reasons? If not, what do I need to have open on my firewall to NAT communications down to the BES server?