Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

BlackBerryStorm 9530 and BES 4.0 issue

[ Edited ]

I am fairly new to BES and blackberry phones.  I setup the BES server for my exchange 2007 SP1 server and connected three blackberry phone users to it.  We just added a blackberry Storm user to the BES.  His emails are getting redirected fine.  However, when his phone tries to go to the internet (e.g. www.google.com),it is being blocked by our corporate firewall. Upon further investigation, I found that all his internet requests go to the cell tower -> Verizon network -> Blackberry network -> BES server in our corporate network -> our corporate firewall -> internet.  How is this happening?

BES is installed in our corporate network for ONLY one reason: redirecting emails.  It SHOULD NOT do anything else? I am concerned. How can I lock the BES server so that it ONLY redirects emails?  I don't want any of our blackberry users to use our network resources for anything except sending and receving emails.  

We are not hosting any fancy apps or anything.  Like I said above, the only reason we have BES is for redirecting and receiving blackberry users emails to/from our exchange 2007. How can I secure the BES server.  What services should I remove/stop from BES?  BES document wasn't clear.

I appreciat it.

Thanks

Message Edited by pie8ter on 12-19-2008 04:01 PM
Guru III
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BlackBerryStorm 9530 and BES 4.0 issue

However, when his phone tries to go to the internet (e.g. www.google.com),it is being blocked by our corporate firewall.