Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
jneves
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
My Device: 9300
Accepted Solution

Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

Hi,

 

I have a device that is provisioned with BIS Lite with our wireless service provider (TMN - Portugal).

 

I'm using  Enterprise Activation Readiness Tool to verify if my BB is redy to begin the enterprise activation process.

 

In the product type, i choose Blackberry Enterprise Server Express And when put the device PIN wich is is provisioned with BIS Lite, i receive a Success message.

 

Is this correct?

 

Thanks

Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,773
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

yes it is when you use BES Express 5

 

BES Express 5 press release
http://press.rim.com/release.jsp?id=3546

About BES Express 5

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/business/server/express/

Any of the following operating systems:
• Windows Server® 2003 SP2 (32-bit or 64-bit)
• Windows Server 2003 R2 SP2 (32-bit or 64-bit)
• Windows Server 2008 SP2 (32-bit or 64-bit)
• Windows® Small Business Server 2003
• Windows Small Business Server 2008
• Windows Small Business Server 2011

Free SRP, yes FREE!
Free 10000 CALs (2k per server) again FREE!
BIS or BES dataplan will work on it.
MAX 75 users when installed on the exchange server.
Over 50 IT policies (remote wipe included)
Exchange 2003, 2007, 2010 suppoted

Over The Air Enterprise Activation for Bes Express 5 with BIS


 http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Professional-Software/Activating-Devices-That-are-...

 

 



BlackBerry Balance
http://us.blackberry.com/apps-software/business/server/full/balance.jsp

BES/SBE/BPS 4.x upgrade options to BES Express 5.0

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
jneves
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
My Device: 9300

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

But, our provider said that we should change to BES dataplan because it won't work.

 

So, the user's don't need to have BES Dataplan?

 

Thanks

Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,773
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

if you have a BES Express 5 server, it works on BIS.

 

Maybe your provider had a new person that did not know about it.

 

They dont need a BES plan for most of the functions that BES Express offers.

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
jneves
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
My Device: 9300

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

Thanks

New Contributor
Doubleho7
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

Hi I just installed BES express version 5.0.4 and I got off the phone with one of Vodacom's representives and it turns out you require BES and if you have a host BES BIS will not work.

 

http://www.vodacom.co.za/personal/services/BlackBerry/blackberrysolution/?pageUrl=/personal/services...

 

To make it worse BES is only available to contract users, so no contract no BES support.

 

I am stuck at the activation screen on the end users mobile devices.

I'm guessing this could be related to the users subscription.

 

Please advise.


 

Regards,

 

Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,773
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

I show BIS or BES dataplan is needed from the link you sent me.

 

 

It is a BESAdmin rite of passage to go through the gauntlet of correcting the right BES data plan with your carrier.

Under Manage Connections on the device (OS 5 and higher), there's a services status which tells if connected to the data network.

For BES dataplan testing.

 

 

Want to check if a device is provisioned correctly?
Sign up for free to the BlackBerry Expert Support Center.

https://www.blackberry.com/besc/dashboard/

Then use the Enterprise Activation Readiness tool.

All at absolutely no cost to you or your organization!

The BESC gives you a suite of valuable tools, and includes a Complimentary Support Incident should you need to contact BlackBerry Technical Support directly.




 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Doubleho7
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

Thanks.

One more thing, would this be a problem for activations?

 

 

BlackBerry Enterprise Server Utility - IEMSTest.exe (IExchangeManageStore), Vers
ion 1.0
Copyright (c) Research In Motion, Ltd. 1999. All rights reserved.
Opening Default Message Store Mailbox - BSA

user1: Opening message store using
/o=First Organization/ou=Exchange Administrative Group (FYDIBOHF23SP3LT)
/cn=Recipients/cn=user1
/o=First Organization/ou=Exchange Administrative Group (FYDIBOHF23SP3LT)
/cn=Configuration/cn=Servers/cn=TECH9/cn=Microsoft Private MDB
user1: Mailbox opened successfully
user1: Root Folder opened successfully
user1: Failed to create a folder in mailbox
user1: CDO Server Name: TECH9
user1: CDO Mailbox DN: /o=First Organization/ou=Exchange Administrative Group (F
YDIBOHF23SP3LT)/cn=Recipients/cn=user1
user1: CDO logon successful
user1: Get default calendar folder successful
user1: Get calendar folder name successful: 'Calendar'
user1: CDO test completed successfully
user1: No Send As permission for the {PROEST\besadmin account operator.
user1: Initializing EWS Proxy... successful
user1: Configuring User... successful
user1: EWS calendar find request... failed We do not use Exchange web services

 

 

 

When trying to associate a device via administration service I get.

  • The BlackBerry Administration Service was unable to retrieve specific device attributes from the device that is connected to your computer.

I am unable to do a wireless setup with enterprise activation tool, My device has network access (BIS)

 

 

 

Please assist.

 

 

 

 

 

Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,773
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,773
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Device with BIS is working in an BES Express server

also this should help too

"Unable to retrieve specific device attributes from the device that is connected to your computer" a...

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V