Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
chancy
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: AT&T

Moving BESAdmin account between databases on Exchange 2010.

I need to move our BESAdmin service account mailbox to a newly created database on our Exchange 2010 server.  We are currently in a mixed mode migration with all of our mailboxes on 2003 and onlyt the service account on 2010.  The BES Version is predominantly 5.0.2 mr2 (we have about 55 users still on a 4.1.6 server).

 

I found instructions for moving the account on an Exchange 2003/2007 server and it needed restart services and re-establish mapi connections on each server. 

 

Is that still the necessary steps now that its connecting through the CAS server for mapi? 

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,353
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Moving BESAdmin account between databases on Exchange 2010.

Follow this KB, it does mention the service account move.

 

How to migrate the BlackBerry Enterprise Server 5.0 from Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 or 2007 to M...

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
chancy
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Moving BESAdmin account between databases on Exchange 2010.

Yeah I have read that and actually printed it out to help with the migration earlier.  That's a server to server move though.  I was hoping to get information on a local database move on Exchange 2010, since you can maintain mailbox connectivity throughout the move and the mapi endpoint on the CAS server doesn't change I needed to knnow if it would cause a downtime to move it or not.

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,353
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Moving BESAdmin account between databases on Exchange 2010.

Stop BES services, move BESAdmin

 

Recreate MAPI profile and start services.

 

Should be that easy and only take a few minutes.

 

Worst case BES will need store service restaed or a reboot to find that mailbox change since it will cache info for 24 hours.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
Contributor
sabink
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: BT Mobile/Vodafone

Re: Moving BESAdmin account between databases on Exchange 2010.

Yep exactly as above

BES Lead for BT, 11 BES 502 VMs, 2 Domains, 14k users
Please use plain text.