Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
bigstuff
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Procedure for upgrading BES, Win2k3 SP1 & Exch2k3 SP1?

I have a similar issue to this, but mine relates to the order of the upgrade.  I don't know if I should open a new thread or continue this one, so please forgive me if I've broken protocol by starting this new thread.
 
We have BES 4.1.2 (Bundle 47) running on Win2k3 SP1 and Exchange 2003 SP1 running on a separate Win2k3 SP1 box.

We want to upgrade both applications (Exch/BES) and both server OSes to the latest service packs.

How should I proceed?  I'm thinking that after backing up the servers, I should:
 

   1. Upgrade to Exchange SP2 on the Exchange and BES servers (in that order), then,
   2. Upgrade to Win2k3 SP3 on both boxes (same order as above), then,
   3. Ensure that the CDO.dll files are the same on both boxes, then,
   4. Upgrade BES by installing BES SP 4.1.6, and finally,
   5. Install MR packs.

Is this the correct procedure?  Am I missing anything?  Can anyone advise me as to how to proceed?

 

Much thanks.  This is a great forum, from what I've been able to read!

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Procedure for upgrading BES, Win2k3 SP1 & Exch2k3 SP1?

Personally, I think starting a new thread was the right thing to do.  I've put my comments in line with your comments / questions in bold.

bigstuff wrote:

I have a similar issue to this, but mine relates to the order of the upgrade.  I don't know if I should open a new thread or continue this one, so please forgive me if I've broken protocol by starting this new thread.
 
We have BES 4.1.2 (Bundle 47) running on Win2k3 SP1 and Exchange 2003 SP1 running on a separate Win2k3 SP1 box.

We want to upgrade both applications (Exch/BES) and both server OSes to the latest service packs.

How should I proceed?  I'm thinking that after backing up the servers, I should:
 

   1. Upgrade to Exchange SP2 on the Exchange and BES servers (in that order), then,

>> Swap the order on these.  Do BES first, THEN do Exchange

2. Upgrade to Win2k3 SP3 on both boxes (same order as above), then,

>> Windows Server 2003 is only at SP2.

3. Ensure that the CDO.dll files are the same on both boxes, then,

>> Ok

4. Upgrade BES by installing BES SP 4.1.6, and finally,

>> Sounds good

5. Install MR packs.

>> Yup

Is this the correct procedure?  Am I missing anything?  Can anyone advise me as to how to proceed?

 

>> Personally, I would move the Windows Server SP2 patch to either the very beginning and then wait a week before performing the other upgrades, or do it last after a week of waiting.  You really have 3 things you're doing here ... Win2k3SP2, Exchange2003SP2, BES 4.1SP6/MR2.  I would keep a week between each of these upgrades as they're all distinct changes.  Making all changes at once while convenient make it very difficult to identify the root cause of problems if they come up.

 

Much thanks.  This is a great forum, from what I've been able to read!


------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bigstuff
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Procedure for upgrading BES, Win2k3 SP1 & Exch2k3 SP1?

Thanks for the pointers and the tips!

 

Got ahead of myself with the Windows SP!!! :mantongue:

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Procedure for upgrading BES, Win2k3 SP1 & Exch2k3 SP1?

You're quite welcome! :smileyhappy:
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bigstuff
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Procedure for upgrading BES, Win2k3 SP1 & Exch2k3 SP1?

Andy,

 

Do you have any documentation that I can refer to that justifies the upgrade order?  I've been looking around and couldn't find one single place where everything was located!

 

Thanks for replying so quickly...

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Procedure for upgrading BES, Win2k3 SP1 & Exch2k3 SP1?

I don't ... somewhere there is documentation that says the version of the Exchange dlls/tools on the BES need to be at or above the version on the mail server(s) ... but I don't know off hand where it is.

 

Other than that, it is all personal preference.

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bigstuff
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Procedure for upgrading BES, Win2k3 SP1 & Exch2k3 SP1?

Ok thanks... good to know.

 

I'll advise on how the upgrades went when I get thru with them.

 

Thanks a lot for helping!

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Procedure for upgrading BES, Win2k3 SP1 & Exch2k3 SP1?


bigstuff wrote:

Ok thanks... good to know.

 

I'll advise on how the upgrades went when I get thru with them.

 

Thanks a lot for helping!


Anytime; glad to help ... looking forward to some positive results!!!

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Please use plain text.