Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

Try setting it up using a USB cable connected to the BES server. I've run into a phone like this previously and it is how I got it working.

 

Same symptoms. Could not connect. Got it to "act" like it was going to connect only to fail 70-80% in. Then had it finally say it completed only to be suspect. I wiped the phone. Provider provisioned the phone. etc etc.

 

I finally just completely wiped the phone, I did delete the user account but it was brand new so no biggie, and then hooked the phone directly to the server and had no problem at all.

Guru III
Posts: 32,003
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

Some times I have seen in the ITAdminQueue in the BES database have too many entries for the user.

It is safe to delete all rows in that table. Then the user is able to activate.

 

I have also seen corrupt contacts or calendar enties mess it up as well.

 

Can you post any thing from the BES logs?

 

Open the BlackBerry Server Configuration application in the start menu and you should see a logging tab. It'll point you to where the logs are kept.

default location :\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerryEnterprise Server\Logs

 

Wired activation can help too, if you turn up logging you can see where the issue might be.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

Got it.  It was either the password thing or the log in to the server.  We had been using the same password over and over again.  I logged in to the BES as BESadmin and used a new password and it worked like a charm.

 

Thanks for the help

Highlighted
Guru III
Posts: 32,003
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Replacing phone with exact same one

 

 

Yeah the password is only used once.

 

 

 

Glad to have helped.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V