Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
sysgenie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

Hi,

 

I just want to know the requirement for Adding New User account in BES 4.1.   One of the exchange user wants Blackberry account.  I am not clear about what the user should have, in order for me to create an account.  He just given his cell number.  Can you tell me what the user should have to setup a user account?

 

From my side, I have BES 4.1 installed in SBS 2003 with Exchange 2003. Currently I have 9 Blackberry user set by

my Senior collegue.  Last week to troubleshoot a issue, I learnt how to delete and add a user account to BES 4.1.

 

Is it similar to that?   All the existing user account have Bell mobility connection.

 

Since I am new to BES and support users from a remote country, I am confused little bit.

 

Please someone guide me. 

Forums Advisor II
d_fisher
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: T-Mobile 8100

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

Assuming the customer already has the necessary BES data plan on their cellular account you should just be able to create the BES account and send the activation password to the customer. Then they perform an enterprise activation.
Developer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

Hello All,

 

I am also having a similar issue on BES.

My company just now got our own BES.

I am trying to activate the user on BES.

For this I got the PIN number of the user's HH.

I am referring to this link

http://www.blackberry.com/support/enterpriseActivationPackage/enterpriseActivation/activationProcess...

 

On BE, when I click Add Usersin Servers tab, I am getting dialog with 3 radio buttons with options Add Single User, Add multiple Users, Add from File.

 

I clicked Add Single user, then I get a dialog which ask to enter Name and PIN. After adding, that dialog closes, and nothing happends.

If u have alook at the above link, in the very first step, they mentioned that BES Admin Add user by selecting its mailbox.

 

But I haven't that got option while adding user.

For information I am using BES 4.1.3.18 on my server.

 

Also, do I need  to get the email address from user to add on BES. If so, I can get the email address, but I haven't find any option on BES to assign that email address to user.

 

Can anyone please guide me here?

 

Thanks and Appreciate your reply,

Hemant

 

 

o(-_-)o
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

You should start a new thread when you have a question.  This thread is almost 1 year old.

 

All you need to start the enterprise activation process is:

1) User you wish to activate (email address / name)
2) Enterprise Activation password (which you can set on the BES).

Can you post a screenshot of what confuses you?

Read: KB10636 - Set an enterprise activation password using BES version 4.1

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Developer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

Thanks Andy, for your quick reply,


AndyDufresne wrote:

You should start a new thread when you have a question.  This thread is almost 1 year old.


I will keep this thing in mind, while posting next time.

 

Back to my Issue:

 

I can't post screenshot right now, as I am out of office.

 

My problem Detaisl:

My company not have its own Mail Server, so for testing I have created test accounts at fastmail.fm(which support IMAP).I used one account(test1@fastmail.fm) for entering IMAP setting info in BES configuration and Test IMAp login works ok, and  am using second account(test2@fastmail.fm) to activate a BB HH.

Next, I have added that user on BES. While adding user, it prompts for Name and PIN. I entered the name(not email) of the user, and his HH PIN.

Also, I generated activation pwd for him and sent to him.

Then user start activation proess from BB HH.

Now, I can see the activation related emails(with ETP.dat file attached) in test2@fastmail.fm account.But nothing happends next. On HH  Activating... message appears continously, and no change in BES logs too.

 

I think the issue is on BES side, as it doesn't know which email account to keep track of.

 

Am I clear to you?

While adding user to BES I haven't got option to add email address, so can I try to put Email in Name field while adding user?.

 

Also, the link which I points to in my last post, clearly shows,in step 1, that BES admin adds a user account on BES by selecting its mailbox(u can see the image also in that link) but I haven't got that option while adding user.

I am using BES for MDS 4.1.3.

 

Am I missing something obvious here?

 

Thanks and keenly waiting for you reply,

Hemant

 

 

 

o(-_-)o
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

You're using BES for MDS; sorry I don't know how the product works.
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Developer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

Never mind!!!,

Can anybody please help me out here?  I am badly stuck here.

o(-_-)o
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

Seriously; I would call T-Support.  Based on the apparent urgent need for assistance and general lack of people experienced with BES for MDS I think that is your best route.
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

And if you haven't already go through the documentation ...

 

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/docs/subcategories/?userType=2&category=BlackBerry+Enterprise+S...

 

 

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Developer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Requirements for Adding New User account in BES 4.1

Thanks for your replys Andy,

 

I will definitely give a call to support. But that will not be possible till morning for me.

Also, I already gone th' that docs.

 

But still my basic question is(which I think is not specific to any specific BES product, as it is related to BES architecture), how BES knows the email address of the user. I mean while adding user, there should be some way to enter the email address for that user, otherwise bes will not know which mailbox to keep track of. Am I right?. 

While EA, ETP.dat file is received at user's account, so one part is done. But, BES is not responding to email, and I think it shouldn't as it don't know the email of the user.

 

Please point me out, if I am wrong?

Still, I will give a try, by entering email address instead of name while adding new user. And let you know the result.

 

If anybody having idea about BES for MDS, then lease guide me here.

 

Thanks and appreciate your response,

Hemant

 

o(-_-)o