Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
numerick
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
My Device: blackberry 9300
My Carrier: Telus

Setup Network with BES

Hi,

 

 

I install a BES 4.1 on the Network. port 3101 is open in both side.

 

Now I need to setup to be able to send and received email on Blackberry users

So, do I need to enable  :

- srp ?  check with  BBsrptest.exe

- smtp ? telnet exchange server name 25 ?

- create an entry in the dns to active 'mydomain.com' to the provider ?

- create an mx record on the this domain to received email ?

 

do I need something else for blackberry server ?

 

Best regards

 

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,125
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Setup Network with BES


numerick wrote:

Hi,

 

 

I install a BES 4.1 on the Network. port 3101 is open in both side.

 

Now I need to setup to be able to send and received email on Blackberry users

So, do I need to enable  :

- srp ?  check with  BBsrptest.exe YES

- smtp ? telnet exchange server name 25 ? BES does not use telnet

- create an entry in the dns to active 'mydomain.com' to the provider ? You should have a MX record for your mail server in place before instaling BES.

- create an mx record on the this domain to received email ?

 

do I need something else for blackberry server ?

 

Best regards

 


 

 

Port 3101 is only outbound initiated and then both ways transfer. Change you settings before a hacker finds this

 

i would suggest reading the manuals before going forward.

 

what version mail server do you have?

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
numerick
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
My Device: blackberry 9300
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Setup Network with BES

ok I will check for security about Inbound outbound port 3101

 

My mail server is exchange 2003

 

ok I will create a MX on my Domain name if not I will not be able to received an send email ?

 

Have you a link to download documentation about setup infra network ?

 

Best regard

 

 

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,125
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Setup Network with BES

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
numerick
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
My Device: blackberry 9300
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Setup Network with BES

it a BES version  4.1.7.23

 

So do I need absolutly a MX if I do a test to send email from Oultook client to the backberry device ( not sending from the blackberry device)

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,125
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Setup Network with BES


numerick wrote:

it a BES version  4.1.7.23

 

So do I need absolutly a MX if I do a test to send email from Oultook client to the backberry device ( not sending from the blackberry device)

 

 

 


It is not needed but will make you life easier.

 

You cant activate Over The Air, only wired activation can be done.

 

How does email get to your server now?

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
numerick
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
My Device: blackberry 9300
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Setup Network with BES

Sending email to Internet is not setup just internaly

Can I install Desktop manager for Blackberry to setup my device by wire ?

 

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,125
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Setup Network with BES


numerick wrote:

Sending email to Internet is not setup just internaly

Can I install Desktop manager for Blackberry to setup my device by wire ?

 


YES

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
numerick
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
My Device: blackberry 9300
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Setup Network with BES

It works with device connect with wire

 

Thanks !

 

 

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,125
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Setup Network with BES

Glad to hear it

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.