Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
benmalcolm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Optus

After upgrading Enterprise Express V5 to SP4 have an error and cannot start administrator.

When i try to load administrator i get page cannot be found.  When I check the BAS-AS error log I get:

 

0 [main] INFO com.rim.beip.Beip - BEIP Disabled: init

 

Anyone have any ideas on how I can get into the administrator again?

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,109
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: After upgrading Enterprise Express V5 to SP4 have an error and cannot start administrator.

I dont see much on that. i would try to reinstall BAS

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
benmalcolm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Optus

Re: After upgrading Enterprise Express V5 to SP4 have an error and cannot start administrator.

Hi, Surely I do not have to reinstall a product to get it to function after an update? 

 

do you mean uninstalling the Blackberry Server then reinstalling and re configuring with the original version before again putting the latest update on?

 

Thanks for advice.

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,109
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: After upgrading Enterprise Express V5 to SP4 have an error and cannot start administrator.

just reinstall BAS only, not the whole thing

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
benmalcolm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Optus

Re: After upgrading Enterprise Express V5 to SP4 have an error and cannot start administrator.

OK I will give it a try.  Do I need to remove it first or just install over the top?

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
oliwer
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB
My Carrier: .

Re: After upgrading Enterprise Express V5 to SP4 have an error and cannot start administrator.

You cannot remove only BAS if it is the only BAS connected to the BlackBerry Database.
And you do not have to re-configure everything - most stuff is in the database.
Have you made any registry changes?
I would recommend uninstall and then install, but if you want to you can give the install over the top a try
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
benmalcolm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Optus

Re: After upgrading Enterprise Express V5 to SP4 have an error and cannot start administrator.

OK uninstall completed and re install of the BAS although, it did not appear as if it was fully removed with the installer.  Regardless I still have page not found error on the server.

 

In the logs I see this, could this be the culprit and be worth resolving?

 

(04/21 00:01:00:275):{EJB-Timer-1[target=jboss.j2ee:service=EJB3,jar=100basServerManagementServer.jar,name=TimerManagerBean]} [com.rim.bes.bas.timermanager.TimerManagerLogFileMessageWriterTimerHandler] [INFO] [BBAS-1007] {u=GuestUser, t=41772} Node: NCISBS001.NETWORK.LOCAL This message comes from a system timer and is a marker to ensure the logfile get created every day
(04/21 00:10:05:707):{EJB-Timer-3[target=jboss.j2ee:service=EJB3,jar=100basServerManagementServer.jar,name=TimerManagerBean]} [com.rim.bes.bas.softwareconfigurationmanager.ExternalXMLTimerHandler] [WARN] [BBAS-2038] {unknown} execute - call softwareConfigurationManagerLocal.retrieveExternalXML failed!

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
oliwer
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB
My Carrier: .

Re: After upgrading Enterprise Express V5 to SP4 have an error and cannot start administrator.

Pretty sure thats not the issue. It cannot connect to RIM to get device.xml and vendor.xml

Can you open the website localy on the BES? Is Windows Firewall running? What is the amount of memory the BAS is consuming and is this stable or does it re-start all the time?
Please use plain text.