Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
BillStewart
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Does BPS server really require 1GB of RAM?

I understand that the specs say 1GB of RAM (to prevent customers from trying to install in extremely low memory conditions), but how much does the BPS server really need? Can it run in 512MB/768MB? (This is helpful to know if you want to install BPS on a virtual server and don't see the need to allocate more RAM to a virtual machine than necessary)

 

Thanks

 

Bill

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,001
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Does BPS server really require 1GB of RAM?

Mine runs at 773 meg kommit with a remote SQL data base

 

All you will do is thrash the heck out of your drives if it even works.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
BillStewart
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Does BPS server really require 1GB of RAM?

Hi knottyrope, so...you're saying it really does need 1GB of RAM, even though you're running it with less?
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,001
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Does BPS server really require 1GB of RAM?

My commit is what I wrote, my machine runs with 1 GIG of RAM.

 

When it was running MSDE my commit was even higher.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.