Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

New Contributor
KL4712
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: SingTel

Domino and Blackberry Integration

I am tasked to develop and implement a way to approve/decline Lotus Notes workflow application via Blackberry device (mostly Bold 9700). I am new to blackberry development. After some research and bearing in mind the constraints given by the users, I have came out with the following approach. 

I hope you all can comment on my approach before I start coding. 

(a) The Domino application will "push" a "browser message" to the blackberry device owned by the approver whenever approval is required. The browser message will contain all the information the approver need to make the approval decision

(b) The pushed browser message will be delivered to the blackberry messages application's inbox.

(c) When the approver open the message, a customised menu item consisting of Approve or Decline will be associated with the message. 

(d) If the approver select Approve from the menu, an email will be automatically sent to a specified address with a special subject for further processing by the Domino application

(e) If the approver select Declince from the menu, an email will alos be automatically sent to a specified address but with a different subject.

Is the above approach doable and what kind of development is required (java, WML, etc?)

Thank you in advance for your input.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Domino and Blackberry Integration

Hi there,

Welcome to the forums!