Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Contributor
MSMMSM
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobile
Accepted Solution

Few BESX related questions

Hello all,

I am relatively new to whole BlackBerry infrastructure, so I have few questions that I'd like to have answered to get better grasp on it. Our environment consist of BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express 5.0.3 + Exchange 2010

BlackBerry related things I am not clear about are:

- What I think I know is that our BESX opens communication line with RIM NOC, and that all mail communication between HH and BESX flows through RIM NOC. Correct/Incorrect?

- During OTA enterprise activation, there is an ETP.DAT file created. What is the mail flow for e-mail message with that file? Does it enter our internal network through our external mail gateway, or is it pushed directly to user mailbox through open line between RIM NOC and our BESX/Exchange?

- What is the story with Internet browsing over handhelds? - is the data that goes to/from Internet flowing by default through our BESX and our internal network or HH go to Internet directly (through our ISP data plan?)

- What is the mechanism in which HH access internal network resources (MDS connection service)? I was surprised to see it function in that way by default (internal network access allowed), because it basically skips all of our edge checks (firewall, IPS, NAP ...). Any advice on this subject? Any easy way of turning it off selectively/filtering by user/by resource)?

- is there documentation available for BESX disaster recovery (backup/restore) procedures?

Thanks, MSMMSM

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
kbe
My Device: Bold 9900 + PlayBook + Z10

Re: Few BESX related questions

Hi,

will try to give you some answers in your quoted text below:

MSMMSM wrote:

Hello all,